You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Didn't Get Keto Flu: Allergies & A Personal Story

in #keto6 years ago

@travelerswarden, thanks for your interesting perspective on how you managed to adapt into a LCHF way of life.

typically anyone who is adapting into a LCHF will take about 6 weeks to become fully fat adapted. As far as your hypothesis it may not necessarily be a gluten withdrawal per se, but probably more likely carbohydrate withdrawal, but not for the fact your are restricting your carbohydrate intake.

The ketogenic diet is in itself a highly diuretic diet, and for every gram of Glycogen stored in your body has 4g of water attached to it, hence why the initial weight loss is that of water and thats why you can see a rapid weight loss initially and then it levels off. and at which point you also excrete a lot of sodium, and as a result of loss of electrolytes you experience these symptoms known as the Keto Flu,

On those odd occasions when I swap between carb eating, and low carb I always ensure I take in adequate salt. Now not Sodium Chloride but Potassium Citrate, and I do not experience any symptoms of the "Flu".

Next time you feel a headache coming on try and have some a little bit of salt in a glass of water and within 5-10 mins the headache should disappear.

Sort:  

I have definitely been increasing my salt intake. I've also noticed that my tastebuds are changing - things that were once bland to me seem to have more flavor. It's interesting what a change it can exact on the body!

Yes it’s amazing the healing capabilities of keto when done properly.

If you look at my previous post on Potassium it will give you some nice little tips on how to optimise your potassium or have too much Sodium Chloride, most people as actually quite depleted of potassium as opposed to Sodium, have a read you might find it interesting.

https://steemit.com/health/@robmenzies/how-potassium-can-help-control-high-blood-pressure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44