What Happened When I Tried the Ketogenic Diet for 30 Days?

in #keto2 years ago (edited)

KETO DIET.jpeg

I Tried the Ketogenic Diet for 30 Days, and This is What Happened.

Is the high-fat, low-carb diet everything it claims to be? Learn more about my keto diet meal plan, including what I ate, my problems and accomplishments, as well as my overall results, weight loss, and takeaways after one month.

The simplicity of the ketogenic (keto) diet plan, on the other hand, appealed to me, and with a wedding to attend—and a bridesmaid's gown to wear—I needed something quick to help me lose weight.

Find out what happened when I decided to go carb-free for 30 days, including how I did it, my accomplishments, obstacles, outcomes, and takeaways for the rest of my life.

How Did I Complete the Keto Diet Meal Plan?

Four things helped me get started: a goal, a carb-focused diet, and a support system.

Only having a companion to hold you accountable.

With a goal of dropping 10 pounds, I started the keto diet approximately a month before the wedding.

Because a low-calorie diet can result in a 2-pound weight loss every week, losing 10 pounds in four weeks didn't seem excessive. If the keto diet plan was as good as it was advertised, I figured losing 10 pounds would be simple.

Before I started, I spent several weeks researching the diet, getting inspiration from keto-focused Instagram accounts, and making a strategy (see our healthy version of a keto meal plan to help you make a plan).

Now you can start the 28 days keto diet challenge: Clic here

KETO DIET MEAL.jpg

My Biggest Obstacles.

It's difficult to eat only 20 grams of carbs every day.

The keto diet is a high-fat, low-carb (HFLC) eating plan. I'd call it extremely low-carb because you're only permitted to eat 20 grams each day.

You can eat more carbs in a day if you follow a net-carb plan (you can remove the grams of fiber from the total carbs in a food). For the sake of simplicity, I committed to total carbs for my 30-day diet.

As a general rule, I aimed for 20 grams each day: 2 grams for breakfast, 5 grams for lunch, 3 grams for snacks, and 10 grams for dinner. I discovered that if I set a goal of 20, I'd come in under 30.

Plan, plan, plan was the key to accomplishing my target. I planned all three dinners, right down to the condiments, as well as weekend snacks. I found it simpler to manage my rare cravings and hunger pangs if I knew what I was eating and what I was "allowed" to eat while staying under my carb goal. The necessity of planning for a keto diet cannot be overstated.

The meal is monotonous.

I consumed a substantial amount of turkey sliders, cheese, and eggs (steak and chicken mostly). It takes a lot of personal persuasion for someone whose dietary philosophy is normally more plant-based and meat.

This can be a very low-calorie diet. Bringing the number of carbs closer to 20 also reduces calorie consumption. Carbohydrate foods are some of the highest-calorie foods we eat, mainly because we eat a lot. Reducing carbohydrates dramatically reduces your potential calorie intake. (See 30 Best Low-Carb Foods.)

One day I struggled to exceed 1,200 calories. Almost every day, I missed my goal of 1,800 calories. This is not enough calories to lose weight, even without a low carb count.
I got sick with "keto influenza".

"Keto flu" is a term you come across on Keto's blogs and forums. It was a very realistic event for me, but not everyone experiences it.

As your frame breaks via the carb cycle and enters ketosis (wherein you rely upon ketones, in place of carbs, for strength), you can revel in fatigue, intellectual fogginess, and even irritability.

My "keto flu" most effective lasted a day, and as soon as I exceeded it, I in no way skilled the signs and symptoms once more. I even ate a cookie someday all through the food regimen to have fun on my birthday.

I clearly got here out of ketosis after I ate that treat, however, I didn`t revel in any repercussions for it. (Learn extra approximately sneaky aspect results of the keto food regimen consisting of a number of the one's flu-like signs and symptoms).

keto diet plan to lose weight.jpg

Start Here the 28 days keto diet challenge

My Biggest Successes at the Keto Diet Plan.

I beat my weight loss goal!

While I got down to drop a short 10 kilos, I speedy exceeded it. I became down 10 kilos inside 3 weeks and hit 15 kilos days earlier than the marriage.

It's crucial to preserve in thought that while you are on a low-carb food regimen of any type, you may lose numerous kilos withinside the first few days.

That's due to the fact your frame is losing water weight. When I again to common ingesting over the marriage weekend, I won four kilos. I did not overeat that weekend. I had simply again to ingest carbs, so the water weight gain.

I had extra strength (however now no longer each day).
Even better, I had a lot stronger and I did not revel in the standard mid-afternoon strength slumps.

Gym time became a chunk of a challenge. Without carbs, your frame has to burn fats for strength, and a few days, so one can go away you feeling tired of strength all through a workout.

That's OK. Stick with it, and attempt once more tomorrow.

I discovered it to be very innovative withinside the kitchen.

It's nearly not possible to devour at an eating place and preserve your keto status. (After the 0.33 time you ask the server to maintain the onions out of your bird fajitas, you will simply need to in no way move right into an eating place once more.)

Luckily, I don't forget myself as an adventurous cook, regularly cooked at domestic earlier than the food regimen, and am inclined to attempt new recipes.

Of course, with a keto plan, your element listing is dramatically shortened. I scoured blogs, Instagram, Pinterest, and different assets for dependable recipes, after which I positioned my very own wondering cap on and got here up with numerous dishes I honestly enjoyed.

You can write down the recipe and record the ingredients using a diet tracking app such as MyFitnessPal to see if the recipe is right for you. It's a bit more work than the average meal plan, but it's worth it.

eliminate sugar adiction.jpg

Eliminates sugar addiction.

You can't eat sugar on a ketogenic diet, and most no-carb sugar alternatives don't work for me. Therefore, if you run out of options, you should give up sugar.
That doesn't mean the thirst is gone.

For the first few days, there was a strong thirst for peanut butter cups, soda, and even bananas. (This is where having a companion in charge really helps.) Going back to a typical diet, you (like me) many of the foods you ate on a regular basis are now too sweet. You may find that you can't eat.

Lifetime takeaway from my 30 days on the keto diet plan.

I don't stick to a ketogenic diet in the long run — I really can't eat that many turkeys anymore — but I expect to come back to it several times a year. Last but not least, a strict diet worked well for me as a reset after a long waste (hello vacation!), And my months of experimentation have been my biggest crutch. (Sugar, pasta, crackers).

The ketogenic diet is not for everyone. If you have blood sugar problems or a history of heart disease, you should not try this diet without the supervision of your doctor.

But if you're healthy and looking for a quick start to losing weight, the ketogenic diet may be the opportunity you've been looking for. I hope you really like turkey.

Click here to Start 28 Days Keto Diet Challenge

Sort:  
Loading...

This is a one-time notice from SCHOOL OF MINNOWS, a free value added service on steem.
Getting started on steem can be super hard on these social platforms 😪 but luckily there is some communities that help support the little guy 😊, you might like school of minnows, we join forces with lots of other small accounts to help each other grow!
Finally a good curation trail that helps its users achieve rapid growth, its fun on a bun! check it out. https://hive.blog/steemchessboard/@steemchessboard/someeznz9em3ap

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49