Keto-Day 1 in the Books

in #keto6 years ago

My Story Begins

Day 1 is officially done. I didn't know what to expect but I am quite pleased with how I am feeling. Previously, I did the Paleo diet a few years back, and I remember how awful I felt even on day one. I also remembered how confused and bored I was with it as it seemed my meals were limited to what I could eat. I've never been a huge fan of carbs; don't get me wrong, I loved pasta, bread and cakes and all that, but I also could live without them. Give me the fatty goodness of bacon. Let me dive into a plethora of cheeses and I'm a happy guy.

My Day from Beginning to End

I woke up at 545AM today and did my usual routine. Got up, got dressed for work and went downstairs. I had black coffee in my to go cup and I have read about the Keto Coffee but I haven't got up to that point yet of trying that out. Before walking out the door, I took down a tall glass of water (20oz) and a shot glass of apple cider vinegar. For those of you who haven't had apple cider vinegar, it is different. A bit on the bitter but sweet side with a slight burn going down. I also took my multi-vitamin (Mega Men Metabolism from GNC) and 2 fish oil pills (1200mg each I believe).

When I got to work, I ate/drank a protein shake (bad idea...filled me too much and I think my brain is on the "eat protein" kick. Throughout the morning, I drank a TON of water. From 7am when I arrived at work until 1130am when I went to lunch I consumed 6 20oz water bottles of water. I also added some MCT oil to the water, about a tablespoon or two to the first fill and just refilled my water over top of it. That too can be purchased at GNC. The brand I use is NOW, seen here:

I also ate a small amount of Royal Jelly (also GNC)just because I didn't know if I was going to get the shakes, jitters or Lord knows so I wanted something to help me with a little energy until I figure this out.

Lunch Time...MMMMMM

For lunch I went to a little mom and pop place by my work and had a 3 egg omelette with sausage and cheese and side of bacon with hot sauce and sour cream (pictured up top, taken before the sour cream and hot sauce). I was in love with this. Having all this food that I absolutely loved but was always told to stay away from, really hit the spot and filled me up nicely. I also had 2 glasses of water, roughly 16 oz each. Surprisingly, even though I had eaten very little through the day, I was not really hungry at all and this somewhat put me over the edge.

Rest of the Day

Throughout the rest of the day, I snacked on sunflower seeds with shell (high doses of sodium) and also some salted almonds. Until my day ended at 4pm, I drank another 4-5 glasses of water as well.

When I got home, I ate a small chicken breast and some broccolli and cauliflower mix with loads of butter and olive oil. Sorry but I didn't take a pic but the chicken was cooked in the crock pot with just some water, salt and pepper, nothing fancy. I also consumed some more water, 2 more 20 oz glasses. For "dessert" I ate a spoonfull or two of cocconut oil.

All in all, I would say that the first day went well. No headaches, no feeling tired and always felt full and didn't feel like I had to cheat or anything like that. I want to make the most of this. I want to change my life for the better and feel like my old self again. I want to be able to look in the mirror and see the changes and know that what I am doing is the right thing for me and I believe in time I will see those results.

I look forward to everyone's comments and hope to see your stories too. Welcome to my journey and thank you for sharing!

Sort:  

Put your ACV in you glass of water. It tastes a lot like lemonade! You can even add a little Stevia if you want to make it sweeter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77