Ketogenic Diet Real Life Trial - Update #2

in #keto7 years ago (edited)

20170912_193335

I'm officially on full day 5 of the ketogenic diet although I did do a soft start on Friday last week. This means eating under/ around 20g of total carbohydrates per day. You can imagine the challenge with how many food products contain at least a decent amount of carbs.

I have a new rule of thumb, to look for items that only contain 1g of carbs per serving. It has worked out pretty well so far!

Things I've noticed since starting:

I took a weight measurement last night and found that I've lost about 5 lbs which after doing some research is likely just excess water weight. Your body naturally loses some water content whenever there is a larger change taking place. I find the same thing when I start a new workout program as well.

I have started to notice as of today and increase in natural energy to the point that I barely feel the need for a morning coffee. I have always drank coffee without sugar, just cream so I continue to although there's becoming very little need for it now!

Last night I slept like a baby! I'm not 100% sure if it has something to do with the diet or if it was just a fluke since I do randomly have those nights every now and then. Hopefully that stays as a result of the diet.

Another point I must touch on is the taste of these recipes in the diet program I'm following....wow! You can see in the post image last night's/ today's lunch. It is a chicken casserole type thing with feta cheese infused sauce with 35% cream, minced garlic and green pesto for the sauce along with green olives. This dish could be served in a restaurant it is so damn good!! My wife even approves.

While browsing my social media last night, I saw a post from super trainer Sagi Kaleb of the beach body team who just happened to write a post about the Keto diet. Ya, this thing is really blowing up right now and gaining mainstream popularity. His article actually touches mostly on that fact, that these diets come and go and it's like a train that some people hop on, fail and wait for the next. Although that is true to an extent, I feel like there's a specific type of diet that work for everyone and no single one will work for everyone. He also agrees that each individual needs to find what works for them.

My wife baked a fresh loaf of banana chocolate chip bread yesterday which is evident of her carb friendliness. In a case like her, she would not take too kindly to a Keto diet void of carbs. You might think that it was extremely hard fore not to touch that deliciousness, but it wasn't.

There's an important lesson to be learned here that I realized since starting out on my journey through fitness and nutrition. I have learned to look at food a different way. It's not about the taste to me anymore that drives me to eat certain things. I'm now able to look at food as different types of nutrients instead of "I need this it looks so good". If you can make this shift, you greatly increase your chances of succeeding at consuming the right nutrients. In the end, you have to find what works for you and go with it.

I can't wait to find out what else this journey holds for me and at the end (as long as theres a change worth showing) I will show you a before and after shot to show what the diet has done for me.

If you missed my first update or general Keto information posts here they are and as always, if you want to keep up with my updates, follow me!

Ketogenics - A different kind of low carb diet

https://steemit.com/health/@christheaudioguy/ketogenics-a-different-type-of-low-carb-diet

Ketogenic Diet Real Life Trial - Update #1

https://steemit.com/keto/@christheaudioguy/ketogenic-diet-real-life-trial-update-1

Resteem Draw Opportunity!!
Screenshot_2017_09_08_15_09_00

RECEIVE 1 BALLOT INTO THIS SUNDAY NIGHTS DRAW WHERE ONE LUCKY WINNER WILL RECEIVE 5 SBD BY RESTEEMING THIS POST! LOOK FOR MORE OPPORTUNITIES ON MY POSTS THIS WEEK AS WELL!

Cheers,

Chris

Sort:  

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Steem-Coin-Small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

4.02...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

Removing carbs from my life has made a world of difference too!!!

Awesome, I can't wait to see the results!

lol and just HOW exactly would I hare that? hahahaha!!! I have been living carb free for over two years, so... the results have already been achieved (weight wise lol) - unless you are referring to my dazzling daily mood! hahahahahaha!!!! KIDDING!!!! :)

Lmao well.... No I meant I can't wait to see my own results! Lol

pffffft - me me me me me... hahahahahaha!!!! KiDDING!!! lol ;)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

The diet seems ot be working well for you, I would switch to trying that but the one I am doing just controlling what I eat and cutting soda is currently working well with me and I am adjusting to it so going to stick with it for now

You know, any reduction in simple sugars will equate to better health regardless how strict you are. Always watch your overall carb intake even if youre not on a low carb diet... Its very easy to go 4-5x the rdi everyday if we just eat normally. Its hidden in everything! Fruit yogurt is terrible for example. Its much better to go get plain yogurt and add your own berries.

Many little things you can do to improve the quality of intake.

I'm proud of you for taking some steps toward better nutrition Jay! Good on ya

Thanks, yes i am using an app and tracking all I eat and watching to make sure not going over anything by too Much :)

resteemed :)

Cheers good luck!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @christheaudioguy.

This post has received a 6.70 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @christheaudioguy.

Sounds really good the chicken meal. I also try to avoid a lot of carbs during the week. Not easy. :-)

Its great to find support everywhere I turn! Cheers

good luck on your fitness journey @christheaudioguy. can't wait to see your beach ready body. haha

Thanks! Its a work in progress, but it looks promising!

I've been on keto for several months. I work out a lot and the results were great. I lost a lot of weight and looked more defined. Then I hit a plateau. My search for an answer led me to learn about carb cycling. I'm eating some carbs about once a week to fill up my depleted glycogen levels. Basically it gave me a boost of energy and strength and my muscles got bigger and more defined. Then back to keto for another week. I'd recommend doing research on carb cycling. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83