Ketogenic Diet Real Life Trial - Update #1

in #keto7 years ago

abstract_barbecue_barbeque_bbq_161640

So as many of you already know, I've decided to embark on a trial run of the ketogenic diet to test out the results on my own body when following this strict LCHF program at: http://dietdoctor.com. As a general thumb I always take information and success stories as a grain of salt so I had to try this myself to see if all the hype is true.

Now when I say strict, I mean 0% tolerance for deviation off the guidelines. See, with Ketogenics, there isn't much room for error because you are putting your body into a different state which takes a full week to enter. Its known in the medical field as ketosis. One slip up eating a huge carb food item is going to throw you back into the regular cycle where it takes another week to re enter ketosis. So I am going hardcore here.

First and foremost, the biggest challenge I have faced thus far (being since Friday afternoon of last week) is finding smaller snack items to eat. Its funny how we are so accustomed to eating the regular things we always do, how different and prohibitive it is to find things that fit the high fat, low carb model. Learning is everything, so I'm sure there's many easy ideas, but so far my go to is pepperettes!

A funny thing happened yesterday, I was helping my best friend brew beer at my house and they decided to order pizza for dinner for the wives and kids.

When it arrived, by habit I picked up a slice and just about out it into my mouth. It was a natural reflex. Well, ketogenic diets definitely do not allow a single slice of pizza crust and it took me until about 1/2" to my lips for me to remember! Sadly, I put the slice back down in the box and said nope I can't do it! Everyone's jaw dropped watching this absurd incident. Then it was off to the kitchen to find something actually legal to eat on the diet.

As of today (day 3 technically) I have not experienced any of the dreaded "Keto Flu" symptoms that are known to happen when transitioning into ketosis, so either I am a freak of nature, or I was doing alright with carb consumption on the usual Western diet approach before I started. I will definitely update about this again.

You know, that first day when I cooked the first recipe of feta cheese infused hamburger patties with 35% cream/ tomato paste sauce and sauteed cabbage, it felt like I was doing something horrible. Which I mean, you're used to trying to eat "healthy" by not using the highest fat things around in sauces and stuff, but I got thinking, maybe we are just programmed wrong by the for profit industries that control our food pyramids and ideals on what healthy actually means. Plus, if you tell any man, "hey, try this diet... You get to have cheese stuffed hamburgers with whipped cream on top!" Who's going to turn that down??!

In the midst of government bodies saying you need to eat low fat bla bla bla, you have an entire alternative doctors group along with many, many professional athletes saying the exact opposite. Someone is right, and someone is wrong. One aims to profit from food, the other aims to try to eat healthy and save money. I'm going to bank on the latter crowd as more trustworthy when they say "this is the right way".

Since I started the diet, I have also done a ton of research through peer reviewed medical journals, documentaries, informational sites, you name it and everything so far is pointing to this diet as the golden ticket to health. Think way back before humans knew how to make bread products or even grow potatoes. There were animals, and there were green plants above ground. We pretty much are a Keto diet before western civilization came into the picture. That and you have these amazing supermodel physique CrossFit world champions telling you during an interview about their nutritional intake, saying "ya I pretty much only eat carbs right before or right after a workout where I'm going to consume almost all of it right away for muscle growth. Otherwise it's fat and proteins for macros"

I've realized through this already that there's a huge disconnect and deception taking place to get people to buy the things food giants want to sell. We still have huge billboards saying "low fat" but what many people do not know is, when they take fat out of food, they replace it with sugar. The real culprit of high triglyceride levels, diabetes etc.

I've had a couple people already say to me, "isn't that diet just a rebranded Atkins diet which was debunked as healthy?"

First off, it hasn't been debunked. I believe anyone who lowers their carbohydrate intake is helping their health because of the insulin response system, acidifying nature of sugars made in the body from the carbs etc.

The Ketogenic diet is different from a typical low carb diet because you are completely (or nearly completely) cutting off the carb supply which throws the body into a different state. With an Atkins style diet there is still some carbs which is detrimental to fat burning. It takes extreme measures to change the bodily function.

This is the first update of many to come as I progress through this journey on the Keto diet.

Stay tuned for more updates by following me!

Resteem Contest!
Screenshot_2017_09_08_15_09_00

Earn a ballot into this week's 5 SBD draw by resteeming this post!

This week's draw runs from Monday September 11/17 to 11:59pm Sunday September 17/17.

Good luck!

Sort:  

Sneaky-Ninja-Throwing-Steem-Coin-Small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja attack!
You have been defended!

4.00...

To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong, I rely on the support of my fellow #thealliance brethren.

When able, please upvote my attacks so that I may stay mighty and continue to defend and protect our beloved team!

woosh

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by christheaudioguy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Keto Flu or Low Carb Flu is, in my experience (20 years), mostly caffeine and sugar withdrawal combined with occasional yeast die-off. People who were on fairly clean diets before Keto rarely get the headaches and nausea.

Good luck and I will be looking for your updates.

Thanks for the info, I figured as much since I'm kind of a fanatic about diet and fitness! Cheers!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 1.97 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @christheaudioguy.

This post has received a 0.26 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@christheaudioguy Very well performed for sticking at it! It's really a new technique for lifetime therefore you are modern-day pioneers. Adore it. Upvoted.
yeah! Why I have never considered that until eventually now. Tend to be the animals immortal in advance of person fully commited sin??? Upvoted.

Modern day pioneers.. I like that, aren't we all on steemit?! Even you!

Have you ever tried just basic macro counting instead?

Keto diets can be very effective if you're strict but it's hard to stay in a ketogenic state if you're not super strict.

I like my carbs too much to do it lol (just being honest), so I just take a keto drink to get into ketosis temporarily and then just do macro counting for the rest of my diet.

Everybody reacts differently to different diets though.

I wish you the best Chris and look forward to hearing more about your keto journey!

~nX

How can a drink temporarily put you in ketosis? If you consume carbs around that, your body will never be switching over. It takes a 5-7 day <25/30g carb stretch to enter ketosis...

Either way, I've been completely strict consuming nothing but protein, fat and very small amounts of carbs. Its proven to be quite a task!

Be careful about too much protein intake on keto diets because it can kick you out of ketosis if you're taking in more than say between 0.7 and 0.9 grams of protein per lean body mass.

I'm the opposite where I take in a decent amount of protein so I couldn't really even get into the state of ketosis just by my diet without the drink. As far as how the drink works this video explains it better than I could: https://hcc7vq.experienceketo.com/ Basically its for people who don't like keto diets (aka myself) to still be able to get the benefits of the ketosis state, but only temporarily.

There is nothing wrong with a low carb diet, but I find it way more mentally challenging to stay consistent on them compared to counting calories and macros. I've also had multiple personal friends that have had REALLY good results with clean eating + exercise + the drink so since it's working for me & them I stick to that process.

Honestly though, if you can stick to the keto diet and it works for you, keep doing it man!

Keep us all posted on the results!

~nX

Most definitely! Its all about finding what works for you

👀resteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95