One of My Favortie Uses for Steak

in #keto6 years ago

As anyone knows, steak is getting expensive these days. Even on sale, it can be a bit dear to the wallet to buy steak and then just eat a big slab of it.

However, when doing keto, you still need to please the palate and steak has a profound ability to do that. It's hard to resist; there are so many glorious ways to prepare it, ones which will reward the taste buds and produce a glowing sense of satisfaction that will last for hours.

Nowadays, I just try to be smart when I get steak. I try to wait for sales, buy in quantity and then make the best use of it I possibly can. For instance, last night's brazed sirloin with garlic might be tomorrow's steak salad with bleu cheese dressing.

Recently, I chanced upon filet mignon on sale (yes, you read that correctly). I had to buy it in bulk, but the price was attractive, and I LOVE filet. I bought a 3.5 lb. tenderloin and then cut it into 6 steaks and some tips (for salad!). I like to sear the steak in a skillet and then roast it until done to my liking; I make sure to tent it for about 7 to 10 minutes to allow the juices to redistribute. In the meantime, I like to make a mushroom au jus with garlic (see a theme here?), oregano, salt and pepper. I'll then served with whipped cauliflower and grilled asparagus drizzled with extra virgin olive oil from Greece. Here's the pic:

Filet Mignon with Grilled Asparagus Cauliflower Rice and Au Jus.jpg

You're welcome. Sometimes simple food that's well-prepared just satisfies the soul.

More to come.

Sort:  

I've been saving more since I stopped eating fast food and at restaurants.

I'd love to get into bulk buys! Need one of those box refrigerators.

One secret is the manager's special in the meat department; while it usually pertains to breakfast sausage, etc., I've actually run into 3-5 pound beef tenderloin roasts for like $30 because people don't want to treat themselves. In the end, I usually end up taking advantage and throwing as much money as I can at the specials, cut them up, bag them well and freeze them. If there's anything better than filet mignon and lobster tail, it's filet mignon and lobster tail for which I've saved a lot of money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41