WE HAD THE FIRST "STEEMIT IN KENYA" MEETUP. RECAP.

in #kenya7 years ago (edited)

I am elated as I type this because people actually showed up for a Steemit Meetup that I organised.

Copy of 30-minute recipes (1).png

Background

When I got to this platform, one thing that stood out for me was that the people doing well emphasised on the community as being one of the things that propelled them to the situation that they are in. I realised that there were very few Kenyans on Steemit. I began looking for them and making connections with each one of them. I think my first connection on Steemit was @deadsparrow and he helped me out. @greenrun also held my hand and explained everything to me no matter how I asked him even general questions. He helped me learn a lot about this wonderful network and through him, one of my posts performed really well immediately after. Some other people worth mentioning are @seyiodus @japfiv and @deniskj. One of the thing that stood out to me is how selfless they were to help me even if they did not know me personally. Thanks guys! With this background, I also had to liaise with others in my country to know the way forward.

Copy of 30-minute recipes.png

First Meetup

As every new thing, we did not have many people attend the meetup mainly because there is so much to be done to let more Kenyans in on Steemit. I know that the group will grow and the goal is to have more and more regular meetups. Just to bring it all in, the aim of this meetup was;

  • An informal face to face meeting to network and talk.

  • Craft a strategy on how we can make a robust community of Kenyans on Steemit.

  • Create a pool of like-minded people so that we grow in Steemit.

  • Talk about how we can earn in Steemit and way forward.

I really want to thank Oti, Sam and Agnes (Still to join), @mutitum @cmbugua for showing up for the meetup. We were all learning from each other. For example, @mutitum helped us learn some new things about Steemit that we did not know. @cmbugua also gave us insights on cryptocurrencies and I also added a thing or two about Steemit. Oti, Sam and Agnes now know a thing about Steemit and they are applying for Steemit accounts.

Way Forward

We talked about forming a group which we already have on Discord https://discord.gg/Cmq84aF
We decided to add more people to the group.
We will spread the word.

@cmbugua also wrote about the meetup. Check it out
@mutitum also wrote about the meetup. Check it out

We are having another meetup on 16th December. More details to come.
To ensure that you are not missing out on anything, join us on Discord as the main discussion is happening there. https://discord.gg/Cmq84aF

Steemit In Kenya.png

Sort:  

Add promo-steem as one of the tags. You are doing amazingly well. Bravo.

Thanks @greenrun for your help. I am glad the meetup was a success. I have added the tag.

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

Thanks for holding it hard for Kenyans steemit

Thanks for your help too. Cheers!

I think I was way too excited to meet you guys. Been missing people to share alot about this community with face to face. Thank you for bringing us together.

This was so fun.

hmmmm, let steemit spread to the whole africa, thats the goal.

Can we talk? on discord.

Hi. I do not know how I missed this. Yes I am on discord.

This is cool you guys are trying to build a local community. I'm trying to organise a steemit meet-up in Brisbane, Australia in Dec/Jan. We'll see how that goes.

Hey @choogirl that is great. Are there many people on Steemit in Brisbane? I got some leads from Meetup.com and also started a discord group in order to build the community. I wish you all the best with that.

This is a great start for the Kenyans, you are doing very good and most especially, you are changing lives.

Thank you so much @xpency I am glad that I have other passionate Kenyans in the community too.

Wait until it gets more interesting, when people start making some cash, they will have you to thank.

Can't wait for that.

Sounds like an amazing time! 😊

We had so much fun like we had been friends for years. Steemit brings people together.

A Kenyan meetup? Really impressive. The blockchain always remembers.

Yes I am so glad we are growing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65