The Engagement ring

in #keangaroo7 years ago (edited)

There are two set people who can destroy you in this life, the first are your friends, and the second; your enemies.

I always knew Uche would be the downfall of me. He is the most undependable person I have ever met, matter of fact, he gives meaning to the word ‘undependable.’ And knowing all that, I am the biggest fool on earth to have done what I did. But how would I have guessed that he was going to mess up a simple task of dropping a box in my suit pocket. And now you would blame me. I blame me. The biggest night of my life so far, and I find out that my best friend lost my engagement ring.

The night had been all planned out, the weather was perfect, the journey leading to this moment was smooth, the preps where all set.

Then it was time to hand the ring over to the waiter, when my phone rang. “I lost it. On my way to the jewelry store to get a new one, be back in a jiffy.”


A lump forms and hangs painfully in my throat. I feel the perspiration spreading in my underarms. It's been forty minutes.

“Are you sure you’re okay?” Nkem asks for the third time in ten minutes.

I am not okay. This night is going to be a disaster if Uche doesn’t find either the ring or a replacement soon.

“I’m fine dear, tell me about your day.”

Her words come out as audible frequency notes, I’m aware of everything going on, except I’m not really here. In my mind, I have travelled to the jewelry shop, met Uche arguing with the receptionist, snatched the new ring out of his hands and gotten back here.

She’s motioning with both hands, and her smile lights up her face.

The chandelier’s light catches her hair, and it reflects a golden brown. Her creamy brown skin glitters in the golden light, her eyes dance excitedly and her lips; plum succulent peaches, opens and closes, but I don’t hear a word she says, I am so drawn to her, I tempted to ask her to marry me, even without the ring.

“Jude?”

“Yeah, what?”

“I asked what you think about the proposal.”

My heart freezes for a second, how on earth did she know I was going to propose? I was extra careful.

I stutter, “What proposal?”

Her lips squeeze to form a pout, and her the whites of her eyes disappear under her lashes.

“The proposal I have been working on for only the last three months of my life. You haven’t been listening have you?”

Shit, that proposal. “Of course baby, the presentation was today, wasn’t it?”

“You moron, of course it was, but wait. If this isn’t a congratulatory dinner- what is-?”

“What’s what?” I cut her short. I am a terrible liar, and she’d catch it right on if I attempted to tell a lie. I stare wide-eyed at her instead, shaking my head, pretending I haven’t got the slightest clue of what she could be talking about.

“Oh, never mind.” She bends to continues eating, “Tasty crabs.” She says with a tinge of disappointment in her tone.

The waiter passes and catches my eyes, gracelessly tipping his head to the left, like he is about to go into a fit of epileptic spasms, until I realize he is gesturing to the arched entrance.

In all my life, I have never been so glad to see Uche, I want to hug him and hurt him at the same time. I quickly shuffle to my feet. “Be right back baby, I need to use the restroom.”

She doesn’t look up from her food, “Ok.”
“Did you find it?” I ask, dragging him to the corner.

“No man, but guess what? I got you the mother of all stones. Anything for you my man.”

This should have been the part I pay heed to the inevitable fact I started my tale with- this should be where I drag Uche’s tie and make a cord around his neck.

“You’re an Idiot.” I say.

“I am your idiot,” he replies, patting my back, “Yours alone. Aha, here you go.” He hands me over a different box from the one I gave him, and rubs his hands in satisfaction, making tssting noises as he tongue glides over his teeth, like one done with a hearty meal, and reminiscing the taste.

The rock is the deepest shade of green I have ever seen. Whereas the one I had gotten had been a clear cut diamond, whatever this is, is a far cry from it.

“What the hell is this?”

“Dude, that is the oldest stone in the country, it’s a rare gem. Grabbed it before even that fancy actress could- you know her, the one with the extra-large butt and stars on tinsel? mehn, the ass is really massive in real life. Pity they can’t tell the two lives apart- you know, I’m sure the next thing we hear is some hot shot got engaged to her, engaged my foot. I saw her select her own darn ring- alone!”

“You better pray the size is wrong,” I hiss, ignoring the unsolicited information.

“Wrong?”

“Yes, wrong. So I can have an excuse to return this,” I thrust the box close to his eyes, “this thing you brought. Now get of my way. I have a fiancée waiting for me.”

“I’m so proud of you my boy, today- no, in a few seconds, you become a man. Come give papa a hug.” He wipes of an imaginary tear, and stretches both hands.

“Get out of my way you fool.” I laugh. I take two steps forward and a twinge of fear hits me. I turn to him. “What if she says No?”

“She can’t.”


“I can’t believe she liked it, said it was everything she fantasized it’ll look like.”

“Of course it did, and I forgive you.”

“Uche, it’s barely 9am in the morning, and you’re already drunk. Forgive me? I should be the one forgiving you! You misplaced my ring.
How does that even happen?”

“It doesn’t.” He reaches into his pocket and what he gets out, steals the breath from me.

He hands over to me the familiar box. “Next time you want to surprise your girlfriend with a gift, especially one as monumental as an engagement ring, try asking her twin brother for advice first.”

ring-2774298_1280.jpg
Photo credits: Pixabay (free images)

My entry to @carolkean writing contest

Sort:  

Thank you for entering! I love the ending--
Uche surprises the reader in several ways. One of them, our protagonist had to know, but we did not - and it's a cool twist.
Fun story! (I hope Uche has a lot of money) :-)

It is, but I forgive you 😁
Thankyou!! I'm glad you enjoyed it! and yes, he does 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.77
ETH 2736.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60