TA Christmas Party : Let's settle the menu

in #katoombachristmas6 years ago (edited)

PicsArt_07-23-10.29.28.jpg

Hey Team!

Long time no update!

Now that the major things are booked and the transport taken care of by the fab @mattclarke the only thing we really need to decide on is the menu.

In my last party update I figured out a menu with an aussie summer and roaming in mind. Here's the recap.

From Hangree (approx. $200):-

  • (Vegan Salad) Roasted beetroot, sweet potato, orange, radish, dutch carrot, almonds, spinach and honey mustard vinaigrette
  • (Vegan Salad) Maple sweet potato, cranberry, couscous, pepitas, green bean and caramelised onion
  • (Salad) Caesar | Crispy bacon, poached chicken, parmesan, croutons, soft boiled egg and mayo
  • (Salad) Crispy pork and asian noodle w peanuts, fried onions and chilli soy dressing (GF, DF)

Others (approx. $150):-

  • Antipasto Platter + Vegan Platter
  • Fresh Fruit Platter
  • Donut Tower from Krispy Kreme
  • Assorted Vegan sweet pies/tarts from Mountain High * Pies (unless I can find someone who makes a really good vegan cake.)

= $350 ($12.50 pp) for 28 people not including drinks. Drinks is for another post later down the track.

Here's Vanessa's sample menu suitable for vegans.


Salads

  • Caesar – crispy bacon, poached chicken, parmesan, croutons, soft boiled egg and mayo
  • Roasted beetroot – sweet potato, orange, radish, almonds, spinach and honey mustard vinaigrette (Vegan, GF)

Platter

Antipasto – Vintage cheddar, creamy brie, gorgonzola, sliced leg ham, pickles, tomato chutney, cured meats, grilled vegetables, marinated olives, hummus dip, fresh bread and crackers

Canapes

  • Salmon, pea and dill croquettes w mayo
  • Honey soy tofu rice paper rolls w capsicum, carrot, coriander, avocado, mint and noodles (Vegan, GF, DF)
  • Vegetable sushi w avocado, carrot and cucumber w soy and wasabi (Vegan, GF, DF)
  • Mini tomato bruschetta w olive and cheese free pesto (Vegan, DF)

= $1,064 ($38 pp) for 28 people not including drinks.


What do you guys reckon?

For me the price difference between the two menus is a huge factor. Even if I do go $50 over on my "others" list it's still going to be heaps cheaper than if we went with the other menu. Keep in mind too that we need money for alco.

One of the reasons I do a lot of DIY is because it tends to be (not always!) ends up cheaper. I reckon in this case, it could be more cost effective if I did a lot of things myself. Eg. The antipasto platter.. The fruit salad. Defo need heaps of fruit in summer.


Party People

Attendance isnt too important right now, especially if we go with the cheaper option but still...

I took the liberty of tagging a few of you that I know are either interested, may be interested, I'm hoping will be interested or generally in NSW.

There are still plenty of beds available and I believe the granny flat is still up for grabs. For details please contact @mattclarke.

🏡 = Booked in at Baller House

1@bearone+1
2@mattclarke 🏡@o07 🏡
3@choogirl 🏡@kubbyelizabeth 🏡
4@shellyduncan@cryptoandzen
5@gohba.handcrafts+1
6@ratticus+1
7@stabilowl+1
8@travelgirl+1
9@phamished@ohboy
10@quochuy@chrisdavidphoto
11@sirknight+1
12@strongnbold+1
13@shaidon
14@ryivhnn@ausbitbank

If you're not interested and don't want to be tagged, let me know and I'll take you off the list. Alternatively if you are interested and you're not on the list, let me know so I can add you on it.

5 MONTHS TO GO! Who's excited?

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

Sort:  

I’m with matt on this one. I’m struggle to save enough funds for my plane ticket. Being cost efficient with the other expenses is a must. Great work putting this together so far!

Thanks Kubby ❤ I hear ya, will definitely be going down the cost effective route.

Woop woop sounds so exciting and so yummy 🤩🤩🤩 looking forward to living it through pics when it all happens!!!

Hi @bearone, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I found out that @cryptonzen and @travelgir don't exist on Steem. Maybe you made some typos ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

I'm not going to make it now, kids all need dental appliances :< And we're going to Christmas Island this year otherwise my alternate was to try and convince JJ to drive across (we have kind of wanted to do the drive at some stage anyway). Will there ever be another one or is this one of those once in a lifetime things? Have to wait to see how this one goes to find out? XD

Perhaps it's safer this way as I would have totally silly sketched it.

My face. 😞

Adelaide - Late 2019.

Really? Oh cool, it won't take as long to drive there :D

Getting amped.
I'm fine with the cheaper option, food is food and I want to keep it as affordable as possible.
Love your work, Arly.

Sweet! I like the cheaper option too. Cheers Matt!

Thanks for looking into this Arly. I like the look of the first menu better. "Honey soy tofu rice paper" is a red flag for me, since honey isn't vegan. It makes me we wonder if they do actually know what vegan means.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

ready to go na to ah... nkaka excite nman ang mga ganitong klaseng event preparation..

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This sounds really exciting! Is there a set date for this or is it the whole weekend and anyone can drop in whenever? Is there only one big meal? Sorry for the questions

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12