How Karate changed my life

in #karate7 years ago

It all began when I was around 8 years old. Like any other boy my age I used to love watching action movies and I particularly liked the ones with good fighter like Jean-Claude Van Damme, Steven Seagal, Jackie Chan, jet Li, Bruce Lee and my all time favorite Chuck Norris. It was his series "Walker Texas Ranger" that inspired me to throw my first punch in front of the mirror. I aspired to one day be a black belt holder like him and I still aspire to be a world champion just like him.

What started out as a mere childhood dream became the drive that fueled me become the man that I am today. Because a few years later I started taking Karate classes first under the tutor-age of my brother before finally taking it up at school. It is there that Karate opened up a world of endless possibilities for me. It is there that I was introduced to the competition world of sport Karate and I never turned back. I am proud to say that I have competed and won at some of the highest levels. But for me its not the medals and trophies that I value the most. I have come to the realization that I am more proud of the person that I have become because of Karate. I always find joy when I see my own students doing well. My own personal discipline I can safely attribute to this wonderful art and the guidance from my Sensei.

Today I am an entrepreneur and many assume my self confidence is an inborn thing, on the contrary I was never confident or social when I was young. But today I stand bold and tall just as I have practiced many times on the tatami. Although I get scared sometimes, the only difference is that I do not run from my fears. I stand up to them and fight because that is what I was taught in Karate. I do not always fight though, because another lesson that I learnt in Karate is that sometimes walking away from a fight is the best thing that I can do for my own good.

I am healthy and as fit as they come due to the training. I have a set of skills that that can help me in a life and death situation. The art of Karate also brought with it manycareer prospects. So would I recommend it to someone else, absolutely!

As for me , I am a different man, I am a better man. I am Shotokan through and through and this is is how Kararte has changed my life!

IMG_20150316_132928.jpgh and through and this s how kara

Sort:  

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @wamushakwe! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @wamushakwe! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42