Ode To My Family (Cranberries Cover)

in #karaokecontest7 years ago (edited)

I've always been a huge, huge fan of the Cranberries. Ever since I was 12 or something and saw Dolores O'Riordan covered in gold paint and that iconic gold dress and headdress and singing that iconic song.

Her voice and personality were out of this world. I can't begin to tell you how I felt when I learned she'd passed away this week.



This post is the first in a series of daily posts about The Cranberries. I plan to do one song from them in each post, and tell you a little tidbit about the band as well. I don't know how long the series will turn out to be. I'll let you know when I run out of songs, or when I run out of vocal cords.

This post is also next entry for @killerwhale's Karaoke contest. Of course I was going to do a Cranberries song. I couldn't not pick one of their songs. I ended up starting of this Cranberries marathon with Ode To My Family. I always did love this song. If you liked my version, and consider it worthy of your vote, please consider following this link and clicking on my entry comment.

So here goes.

In 1990 Noel and Mike Hogan, two brothers from Limerick, Ireland started a band along with Fergal Lawler. They originally called themselves "The Cranberry Saw Us." I guess they just loved cranberry sauce, because it was a play on that.

Dolores auditioned for the part of lead singer and won. "Linger" was written by her. Her unique voice has characterised their sound throughout the evolution of their music.

Stay tuned for tomorrow's song!

Hugs

Tiny

Sort:  

Good singing! It wasnt good to hear she passed ej...Poor thing. Good ode to the Cranberries!

I plan to keep them coming for at least a week. ;-)

Jeeej! Sad reason, but good stuff is following out of it

Hello,
Nice vocals....love the Cranberries, Dolores will always be an icon of mine, rest he soul. . I used to karaoke all the time. I am new and really enjoy the people here. Nice to meet you!

Nice to meet you too, Gail. Does word-syrup mean you're a writer? ;-)

I do love to write about issues I feel strongly about. I do write some poetry/lyrics also. I have a lot of things going on in my life and I thought this platform would be very healing and therapeutic I came up with the name because I thought it was time to "pour it all out and let it flow" check out my page if you get a chance , more insight on there.

I will, I definitely will.

and I heard her sing finally, and saw her face too....

such love for her

For who? Dolores? Yes. She's amazing.

Music is good entertaining way
that is good post for all
thanks for sharing

Another wonderful performance, Tiny. I'll make sure to follow your Cranberries week not only for your singing, but also to learn a bit more about the band. I've always known their hits, but not much else.
And of course, the mandatory votes both here and on the contest from your #8 phan ;)

Rest in peace, Dolores. I love her song very much, I'm so sad to hear the news of her demise :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83