You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Split Pea Soup Doesn’t Need Garnish

in #justbecause6 years ago

It's so nice that you send pictures of your cooking creations to your mom, I should start doing that as well. I don't see her that often, and sometimes we can go weeks without talking since we both are quite busy with our lives. It would be a lovely way to connect!

Normally when we make split pea soup in Finland, we don't add potato in it, so next time I'll have to try this version! I mean, who doesn't love potatoes? 😋

Sort:  

I probably send her pictures of my dinner at nauseam :) but it is a good way to make me feel like we’ve connected each day.

Oh @jasmink you have to try potatoes in your Split Pea- potatoes make everything yummy 😋. Thanks for stopping by my friend.

I can imagine my mom answering to me such things as "where's my plate" and "when will you come to cook for me too", haha. Does your mom also send you pictures of her dinners? :)

Haha… yes, I get those responses sometimes :). No, she doesn’t send me her food but she’ll now ask what we are having for dinner… I see that as progress to being interested in a healthier diet. Not that I need her, or anyone else, to eat like me but I’d like to see her partake in the joy of creating food and nourishment for herself. It brings me so much peace and warmth that it would be nice to see cooking healthy do the same for her.

That's just amazing to hear, and I understand exactly what you mean. This is a bit extreme example, but when I met my boyfriend five years ago, he would eat 5 eggs and 300 grams of ground beef for dinner... As the time has passed, he's changed a lot in his diet. Not that I've been pushing him to eat completely vegan or anything, but seeing me cook my meals, he's become a lot more interested in healthy eating, and now he mostly eats well-balanced meals, usually even vegan or vegetarian ones. It feels rewarding to see your loved ones getting more interested in treating their bodies well through nourishment. :)

Yes!!! I love hearing this- it’s so rewarding watching people close to you become interested in treating themselves better through the example of how you treat yourself. The best part is most of the time they don’t even realize they are eating so healthy when I place plates of food in front of them. The most loving and caring thing one can do for themselves is in eating their nourishment. I’m really glad to hear your boyfriend find a more balanced diet suitable to him. We can heal so many ailments through our diet.

Even my neighbors are often beneficiaries of my sweet treat creations. They also know they are all made dairy free, gluten free and refined sugar free. Haha… I love when they find these treats just as delicious as any with all of the above mentioned ingredients. Anyway, I’m rambling… always nice talking with you @jasmink - enjoy your Sunday :)

Ramble as much as you want, I love having these conversations with you! There are so many things I agree with you, but still you make me see things in new light. You're such a genuine and positive person, it's always a pleasure talking with you @puravidaville! :)

Ahhh thank you @jasmink! 🤫🤫🤫 don’t tell anyone but you’re one of my favorite Steemit accounts… thanks for being you.

That's so sweet of you to say! (you're actually one of my favorite Steemians as well, no one else will hear this since I'm whispering it, i.e. writing in parentheses, haha), but seriously, I love reading everything you post, I'm glad you've found Steemit and started blogging @puravidaville! :)