My Year End Review of My Steemit Year. Just the fun not the drama

in #justbecause6 years ago

018 sunset 12-29-18.jpg
Big Picture

The Numbers


Dateline: December 31, 2017
Day 152 on steemit
314SP of my own 329SP total
15SP delegated by Steem
Reputation score of 54.950

Dateline: December 30, 2018
Day 5161 on steemit (18 Moons)
1,054.316 of my own SP.
51.474SP Delegated by @davemccoy
140.500SP Delegated out by me.
965.290SP Current Votable SP
Reputation score of 60.636

A 740SP Increase for the year.
2.065789473684211 daily increase first 152 days
2.042635658914729 daily increase over the last 516 days
2.027397260273973 daily increase for the last 365 days.

So as any new user can see, it takes time. The first part of my time on steemit was a good growth period of steem and its price value. The first few months of 2018 continued the growth value of steem. The last six months have not been an easy time for steem value. I think what the numbers above show though is that investing at a steady rate will lesson the personal account loss, steem may or may not turn around, that is the beast of investing, so as far as earnings go and making money it was a losing year. If making money was the only reason for your presence here I do feel for you. If it was for the community, it would be difficult to put a monetary value on it. The numbers are done, on with the fun.

The Fun


First post of 2018: My Moose Monday Picture, inspired by @shasta
I will likely end this year with a Moose Monday Post tomorrow since I have a moose picture in mind.

Jan 14th, the beginning, the beginning of my time with The Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative - my first post I kept up with it weekly through week 41, but with HF 20 and more information now available for the new users and numerous other welcome groups, I was getting no new users seeking assistance, so it became bi-weekly, and maybe one more and call it a year. The initiative created by @mudcat36 and @davemccoy kept me involved in and helping onboard new users, it was a very good learning experience.

Jan 26th. A really banner post and idea, and the begining of being involved in and with @apolymask (@IFC), Information Finding Championship. Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 1 (150 steem grand prize) This ran a bit longer than he anticipated, but it was a lot of fun. I am looking forward to a few rounds in 2019.

Feb. This was the beginning of my nightmare foray into ginabot and discord chat rooms. I had tried the steemit chat a couple of times, but more and more people were moving to and using discord chat. Every group had a discord. I say nightmare, because I have had to do a spring cleaning of all the discord rooms and servers several times. At one point I hit 30 servers I think, that was just to to many. With steem monsters, the numbers are growing again. and soon time for another trim job of discord. Ginabot is nice, but with that many discord groups and all the @here @everyone mentions, a nightmare. A fun one at times, but still a nightmare at times.

Feb 11th. I was introduced to Ashers (@abh12345) and his curation league I asked to be added, and now every sunday, I have a quick synopsis of what I did engagement wise for the preceding week. I use this to keep myself grounded to the real purpose of steemit for me and that is to visit via my chair other countries, other places, to meet new and interesting peoples from all walks of life. I was never able to get into the facebook, or google hangouts, or youtube thing, so for social media I really like steem blockchain and steemit.

March, the end was getting close for @pibara and his Ragnarok Book Series. He requested help from the community last year, and even though I am not an editor, just a reader he was looking for help on typoes, inconsistencies and other such editing things for his book. So I tried to help in any way I could. I tell you it was fun, and since I like to write, (just write not author), I learned a lot trying to help where I could and reading some of the other helpers also. Visit his page and you can find links to his stories and where to get them.

April. A pretty good month also. I found and participated in several Pay it Forward post. I always have a hard time with that kind of post, but still they were fun to do, and provided a little recognition to some deserving steemians. The: Pay it forward Curation contest by @thedarkhorse, is still around and has a wonderful group of people it has a new home account of it's own @pifc.

May. In May I think that everyone suddenly became aware of DUST, and just what a dust level vote was. @davemcoy worked with witness @danielsaori to try and mitigate some of the adverse issues associated with it, thus was born @dustsweeper. A very nice little tool.

June. That is when I heard of and learned about Steem Monsters. I have greatly enjoyed it, and I even wrote several short stories for it. (none of which won much, though one did get a curie, a small one). Steem Monsters has really cut into my commenting and posting on steemit, although to be honest I don't really post that much, lucky if I can get 4 to 5 post out a week. I am still playing and enjoying the game now.

Late June the finals of @IFC began, and boy were there just some plain assed kick ass post done in those finals. I was surprised I made it through round one.

July. A picture from a story. I like to write and do not in any way consider myself an author and likely never will, still I like to write, good bad or ugly, it is still a fun thing to do. Sometime people even enjoy the story I write, but like anything the more you do it the better you become. So I enter contest every now and then. But sometimes there are no contest around and you feel you just want to write. Then you are looking through your pictures for a picture post you are doing and see a cool picture you took, and even though it is not what you were looking for for the picture post a story just jumps in your head. @themanwithnoname had a post Story From A Picture #1. I really liked the idea and even used his picture for a short story. I have done a couple since then, and still enjoy doing them.

August. My steemit anniversary month, The first year was fun, so far still fun. I hope others are also enjoying their time on steemit. I was out of the finals for IFC, but it was still in progress, it was ending as it started with ties and then tie breakers. Some very fascinating work by the participants, you can view most of the rounds and challenges and stay current of upcoming events at @ifc.

September. Upcoming HF20, so not being sure if I would need or want a secondary account, while it was still possible to create a totally free account I did so. Now I have to try and remember every now and then to post something over there. Still not sure what I am going to eventually do with the account, but is is slowly building and will be ready to use when I need it.

September, October, November, and December. So with the conclusion of @IFC and the Information Finding Championship, I have been doing a lot of picture post, story post and just general post, and of course completely enjoying my time playing steem monsters. I have continued to try and be involved in commenting and definately in voting content. Changes were made, adjustments were made, tweaks here and there were made, I am still enjoying steemit even with all its ups and downs and flaws, I still like it.

2019 - - What do I expect from it? Nothing, I hope steemit is still here in one form or another. I have enjoyed my time. I plan on continuing to posting short stories, playing games, taking pictures, commenting, and just being a general nuisance to those that find me annoying, to them use the mute button. I may even post some musical interludes or other boring shit post. Who knows maybe one of my pictures will be seen by someone that wants to buy it, I don't know why but you never know, or one of my short story will be wanted to make a twilight zone episode out of, or maybe I will come up with an Idea for a killer dApp on the steem blockchain, but reality is, I am me, I will continue to be me, and I will continue to steem as I see fit.

I hope you all have a very nice and safe New Year.

1Day's on since Aug 1, 2017 calculated via Google search: "number of days between 8-1-17 and 12-30-18"

Check-in every now and then at @steemUSA, they may have a new Monday Photo or Thursday thought post.


Check @photocircle for their latest "The Best of Photocircle Contributors" who knows one day you may see me listed there.

Sort:  

Your 8 shares in @minnowbuilder3 are confirmed and your vote is set up on SteemAuto. Also now following your account. A bonus vote was given tot his post as a welcome to the program.

Thank you, it is something I have been meaning to get around to for awhile, I blame all current failures on my part to keep up because of steem monsters. Now I just need to remember to keep some set aside for upvoteshares people.

Steemmonsters seems to have more then a few people hooked. I have avoided it purely because there is no way to afford the time that very well be taken up if I get hooked on the game...lol

I am glad you are still enjoying it. It should be fun! That's what keeps me going :0)

It is, IFC was fun and should be for second season also, the photo contest/challenges are always fun, (I never win the photo contest, but they are still fun), and the writing prompts, contest, challenges, they are a blast for people like me, very little skill but what a thrill to participate. Sometimes I even got lucky and people liked the story, and so many to read.

I used to love the contests, especially the writing ones. It's the story that always shines through. The more you write the better you get at it too so it keeps you fresh by entering them!

I am always glad to hear when someone is enjoying the whole experience! :0)

This week and next week have much higher prizes for the Curation Contest if you happen to have some time to give it a try.

This was a fun little recap, if I can find some time tomorrow maybe I'll do one too. So many things to do and so little time...lol

It took forever all the scrolling back and picking what to pick, as you can see by september I ran out of steem.LoL.

Yeah it's not exactly easy to go back in time. Sure the info is there, but it's more of a treasure hunt then it probably needs to be. Either way glad you are one of the ones that stuck around after HF20. Here is to a fun and profitable 2019!

Hi @bashadow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.150 which ranks you at #3099 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 8 places in the last three days (old rank 3107).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 204 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 149 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I'm still getting use to the community here overall, as I've only been posting my content for the past 2 months. So as I'm not that familiar with Crypto or this Platform yet, so I can't really sum up the year at all.

What I do know is I've enjoyed my time here more then other places I've done my gaming blogs. Minds is fine, though I got quite a bit more traction here then I did over there, and despite the posting limits from RC (Only working with that 15 SP they delegate to newbies was a bit limiting as I was trying to make sure my older Minds Posts were backed up here as well), I was getting more interactions here.

There are things I do know about Crypto though, however little it may be, so when MIRA was recently announced as a way to run nodes cheaper and decentralize it more, it really made it seem like me signing up here when I did was a good idea, as I think there is a chance the platform will grow.

I've been lucky enough to have been noticed by a few different Curators as well (@Akibasteem and @Archdruid), not to mention I've managed to get three Curie's in my time so far, and those three have managed to give me a big boost so early on that I am grateful for.

Then there was the help from Trufflepig, the bot that finds undervalued content to share, that has helped quite a lot as well. Been going out of my way to make sure I delegate to it in part because I like what it does, and also it pays out part of it's rewards to it's Delegators. It's small, but should be nice if and when the value of Steem climbs.

Also I quickly became aware of SteemBasicIncome after getting a few shares, so overall my 2018 on Steemit has been pretty fantastic.

There is some pretty crazy drama that happens here, but it's easy enough to avoid, so I'm fine. :p

Welcome to steemit, it is a pretty nice place, and yes most of the drama is easy to avoid. Even without the SMT's there are still a lot of growing and different communities in steemit. It has been a slow take off but they are growing and people are finding the communities, you likely already found the @artzone community, and there are more now that help and support the art community. The writers and the photography communities are all coming along nicely also. there are wider more embracive communities for various nationalities, but those are all also open to all most anyone, they are not exclusive type clubs.

I think there is still a lot of improvement to be done, but it is slowly being improved by the users.

A good review of your year on Steemit, I took a snapshot of my number sfor today so I can compare it at this time next year sadly I didnt take a snapshot a year ago so I cannot compare

Happy New year to you may 2019 be a great year for you

I hope you have a nice New Year, stay safe, so we can see more of your wonderful pictures this coming year and share more walks with people around the world.

Thanks My friend I am at home for New years and seeing in the New year quietly so I will be here posting in the New year ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55