My Steemit Newbie Resteem Post - Week 17

in #justbecause6 years ago

          Here is the link to my first #newbieresteemday post. It contains the links to @mudcat36 and @davemccoy 's Newbie Resteem Initiative. This is my week 17 posting. First weekly post was made on Jan. 14, 2018. The reach that #newbieresteemday tag has had is phenomenal.


Image created and provided by: @amariespeaks
          So, if you are new to steemit and meet the criteria below I will try to help at least one individual that responds:


• a steemit newbie, that has a rank of not more than 45
• has a good and quality blog
• has less than 90 days on steemit
• I will only resteem One post, and that is not a guarantee

          If you would like your blog be resteemed, read, commented on, and voted on, leave a link to one of your blog post in the comments below and I will try to help. If you have a question I will try to answer it, or direct you to someone or a post that may be of help. Steemit can be overwhelming at times, but there are people that do try to take the time and help others.

Where you can Find us


@newbieresteemday - This is our primary account, and the one that does the majority of the resteems, although most members will resteem a few post. On our home blog page you will find on the banner the link to our discord chat room.

@newbiegames - This is our page that we utilize to highlight and support games and challenges, and where we occasionally run our own games and challenges for the not just the new users, but for all users of steemit. We try to feature games and challenge that do not have overly complicated entry rules, and mos of the games do not charge even a vote to play, it is if you have the Vote Power available always appreciated to vote on a game you are playing in, as most of the smaller games rely on the post pay out for the awards pool.

Discord Chat Room - Here is where you can go to find all kinds of help, or to just find someone to chat with. We have a lot of information and assistants rooms on the left hand room links, and a post promotion dropbox that people use to find new content from members to look over.

My week 16 Posting - I have included this link because it has a table of all my other weekly Newbieresteemday Postings. Each of them are a little bit different and have various things highlighted, from how to's with picture/link manipulation to highlighting various groups and people. (The table was getting pretty big and taking up a lot of room).


          I continue to promote @apolymask Information Finding Contest. I have met so many nice people and helpful people, and some pretty damn fine quality postings and conversations through those postings. It does not matter that you may have different thoughts and opinions, people are still very respectful of your right to think how you want to think.

          Round 32, and catch up round 33, have just been announced. Several new participants have found the game through this post and similar postings. There is still more than enough time if you are upto some fun and games and meeting new interesting creative people. We are getting very close to the end of season one so now is the time to jump in and try to qualify for the final 16 rounds picks.

          If you need help understanding the rules, or the concept, just ask myself or any of the players we will try to help. I feel this contest is a super great way for new users to get a leg up, while having fun and making some friends on steemit, and learning how things work, all of the participants are real people, they will help if you ask.

          The beginning of IFC (Information Finding Championship), and Newbieresteemday initiative, was very close to each other, and I have been a member and a participant in both since the start up of each. I have truly enjoyed myself, and met some wonderful people, and had many good conversations with both groups.


          "The Marketplace" is an offshoot of IFC and the IFC discord chat room. We have several game/challenge participants, over 30, and a lot of followers of the games. In the IFC Discord room we are approaching 100 or more users. We have pretty much built/grown generically a "Community". All communities need a place to shop, and relax, so there was a desire among the community residents for "The Marketplace".

          Last week I profiled a little bit on "The Marketplace", it is now open and available. We have several Rooms/Vendors and some of them are already making deals and enjoying the ability to reach people, and people are finding it easier to find that Artist or business they need or "Yard Sell Item" they have been looking for. Need something special? Visit the vendors today.


          This is a weekly contest that is being run by @thedarkhorse. It is a simple contest, and one that even new users can participate in. Why would you as a new user want to participate? First it will give you an opportunity to create a post, it will give you the opportunity to find quality content from users like you that are new and will very likely appreciate the fact that you "Profiled" them for the "Pay it Forward" contest. Every week on about Wednesday, the new round is issued, week 5 is in process, so you still have one day to play in round 5.

ending.png

Sort:  

This is a great way to help steemit grow in a positive way. Love it!

My biggest vote possible, thank you for being my 1000th follower.

much appreciated, thank you! i cant wait til I get more than a penny to vote with. Just found out that they round DOWN and nobody actually gets the penny. UGH. Congrats on 1000 followers!!! Amazing work!

Woohoo!!!
Congratulations
@bashadow!! 🎉

Thank you, and guess what? wanna guess? I would make you guess, but then you would not see. This is my 7000th comment. Two mile stones, and yes I just reloaded the page before making the comment 6999 posts So when I click the Post button you know what is gonna happen. Number 7000

I keep hearing about newbie games I really should see what is going on over there.
That IFC also sounds very interesting. It also sounds addictive.
I'm sure you will be seeing me around the contest more often.

Addicting, yes, but because it is fun, and the people in it are just so damned smart and talented, I feel like a hack around most of them, but I am still having fun, and even won a round or two. The newbiegames channel tries to find contest that don't charge people to play, some times votes get tight for new users, so it is do I try for a game or vote on content and leave a remark. tough choice for some people so they try to make it easy to play.

Good initiative to helpout newbie minnows, thank you and people like you!

I will will submit a post here for consideration -

https://steemit.com/life/@mmo-mmo/the-magic-and-miracle-of-bamboo

Visited, voted, and commented, very nice post.

https://steemit.com/busy/@triplef/1st-chapter-the-power-of-upvote
I don't know why i have been struggling with getting even comments sometimes.
Thank you for the initiative.
I hope to be the one, but even if i am not, i fully support your post and the idea.
Have a great new week in advance.
From @triplef

If you figure out the comments thing, let me know, it has only been recent times that I have seen my comments move up out of the single digits myself. I think it really just takes time, and as a person's reputation grows, the more people want to interact with them. It would be interesting to see a breakdown on that, how a person's Rep, effects the number of comments they get. But I have seen and visited a lot of higher reputation post, and they have the same issue, a nice post and very few comments.

I guess all we can do is respond to the people that do visit and leave comments, and try to remember to leave comments on the post of people we visit. I think when people first join steemit, they are to afraid of making a mistake in comments, so they don't make comments. After awhile they start to see more and more real comments, and then they start to make comments. I think that is one of the nice things about @thedarkhorse's Pay It Forward contest, we go out find people, comment on the post and they then see that hey, it's okay to comment. It is one of the reasons I participate in the contest.

So we go out, and we educate people, show them through our actions that there really is nothing to fear. We keep in our minds where to send people for help if they run into trouble. And we grow slowly, but steadily, as we learn along with our teachings because when a question is asked, we sometimes need to go hunting to educate ourselves before we can educate someone else.

Actually there have been a couple of posts i made that i was really interested in just comments and not upvotes. Of course we are here to earn, but my main aim for now is to learn more than earn. Therefore i have been searching for comments and suggestions and criticism. I like your criticism because it made me reflect and change my way of posting & format.

Another thing i have been learning is that commenting must not be just a couple of words. This is not chat or just a contact. A comment is the feedback we receive for our work so just replying thank you, or just saying great, etc, won't make any impact on our post and our account name. I do respond to all of my comments. It does take some time for me to do that, but i never leave a conversation empty. Yeah, we do educate people by how we comment, respond, post, react and they will definitely learn. I know this because i learned. I was afraid of commenting. I was just upvoting. It doesn't make an impact on people.

Thank you for all the teachings i have been receiving so far from all of you. But i believe we never seize to learn. I am still learning.

A lot of new people fear the comment, I know I did when I first started, then I had a comment flagged, and well that puts the fear right back in to you, so it takes time, that I know for a fact. But we face it and we get over it, if we want to move forward. We learn from our mistakes and the mistakes of others.

Great post @bashadow !! Thank you so much for taking the time to put this together. We appreciate all you do 😁

Were well into week 17, and the initiative is still going strong and growing. I think we are reaching people, and people are finding us. So it is a win win all the way around.

Nice initiative...way too good to welcome em

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85