Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 22 - - - Music

in #justbecause6 years ago

Artwork credit - @yeszuzia on steemit and instagram


Lyrics, or just a poem. I really don't know...music...at all. (Judy Collins style line)

I once was a pauper as poor as could be,
As I walked through the woods what did I see,
A castle so tall just waiting for me
I approached the tall door as tall as could be,

I knocked and I listened and heard some foot falls.
A kindly young man had answered my call.

I asked my question as fear held to me,
what is this place, may I come in and see?
I looked around him and could it be;
An empty cobbler shack waiting for me?

I knocked and I listened and heard some foot falls.
A kindly young man had answered my call.

This is the home of the IFC,
we teach and we learn how to be free,
we ask of our staff and members to be,
find the information and bring it to me.

I knocked and I listened and heard some foot falls.
A kindly young man had answered my call.

I learned that his name was Apolymask,
the questions he asked all led to new task.
People from close and people from afar,
all were welcomed no one was barred.

I knocked and I listened and heard some foot falls.
A kindly young man had answered my call.

And so we all gather and take up the task
find the best info for the man with the mask.
It's about the task and so much more,
if we had fun then we all scored.

I knocked and I listened and heard some foot falls.
A kindly young man had answered my call.


I know most people think the song is Clouds, but it is really called "Both Sides"
Source: Courtesy of Rick Lear and his youtube page
If anyone wants to try and make my song above feel free, change what needs to be changed, because i have no clue how to write music, or write lyrics. But I like Judy Collins song. There is just so much music.

Jingle


I knocked and I listened and heard some foot falls.
A kindly young man had answered my call.
I heard of some task from a man in a mask.
A champion challenge to test me at last.

Like I said, I really don't know music.
Information Finding Championship - Season 1 : Round 22

You, as you can see above from my entry, just need to try, step out of the box, and have some fun.

Sort:  

I just stumbled upon your post. There is so much I like about it, NEW FAN!
Judy Collins reminds me of Joni Mitchell, thanks for sharing her music, I love this.
Your lyrics are wonderful. It reminds me of one of my favourite Bob Dylan ballads, Motorpsycho nightmare. I Can't find an original of it, but I did find a really cool cover.

I have been writing some ballad style stuff lately. @quillfire recommended the Coca-Cola jingle from the 70s to get the rhythm and meter right, it has been really helpful. I have had this Dylan and the coke song stuck in my head.

Thank you so much. I have been loving these challenges that @apolymask comes up with. I have really had to expand myself a lot on some of them, I even tried my hand at making a meme, a meme, I thought that was hard. Trying to write a song, well it came out more like a poem but I tried, and it was fun. So having someone that actually writes ballads, (I love them by the way ballads) that just made my day.

I am a ballad novice, I have started writing with the steemit 100 days of poetry challenge. I am only writing poetry too.
I don't think it is important to differentiate between poems and lyrics, when set to music a poem becomes a song, and then they are lyrics.
Dylan is a perfect example of that. A singer songwriter who won a Nobel Prize for literature.

There were a lot of good entries. Though I have to say I'm a sucker for good quality content that's related to the IFC, and you making a poem/song to me is epic! I vote for this one and I hope we can get a musician to cover it before too long so we can all have an IFC song to listen to! :D Awesome entry bashadow! This one may go down in the history books and hopefully we'll be listening to this song years from now in the future! :)

Wow, I think the correct term is, "I am flabbergasted". I really did not think it was going to be liked as much as it has. It would be great to get someone to take it and make it into a song. That would be great.

Agreed! It's definitely on my to do list. Maybe in a future challenge we could have people cover it. Though I'm not sure if we have enough players for that yet! If necessary I could ask my friend soundlegion to help, but she's really busy right now. So I'm just going to sort of wait and see what happens and let it flow in a natural way. But I do want to see this made into a song some day for sure!

That's so cool you step out of your box and had some fun. That seemed like you had fun writing it. I know nothing about writing music either, but it so cool that the @ifc can be entered by anyone with whatever experiences they have. It really makes this contest unique! Great entry! I would love to see someone with music skills turn this into something!

maybe our new friend @chrisroberts can help in that area!
I would love to see him sing this song! He has some great ones out there for sure!
I love the jingle btw @bashadow, you are definitely showing us your creative side for sure! Thank you for your entry! Good Luck!

Yeah, maybe if he see's I joined in August 2017, he will take pity on me.

You do a great job on your own You don't need pity I'm sure, although I did enjoy the pity poem he wrote.

That would be cool, maybe @bengy will try? But still I did have fun. I tried to get a repeat thing in there to differentiate it from a poem, but not sure it helped, still reads more like a poem than lyrics, but still I did try. Hopefully more will also. I am thinking about a story for round 23 even though I don't qualify for get votes or XP from it I still think it looks fun.

In afraid I'm not really a composer, not one of my skills! @silentscreamer?

You was the only music person I could think of. I did find a brand new music therapist I dropped your name and the musicapoetica name on my comment to her @kayannepepper - only been on steemit 3 days I think.

Yes, thanks! I contacted her via the community account! Thanks for keeping an eye out for musicians!

The shelves have not been filled so the more stories the better!

I like that you gave it a shot! And You did very well at it too! Agree with C more stories for the children!!

start with a little hum and put some beat into it slowly create the rhythm to find the right tune and pitch then try to sing it and feel it.

I think it American Idol. Did you ever watch that show, or see the clips of the guy that could not sing that went viral? Now take his singing and make it ten times worse, and you may get close to an idea of just how badly I sing. I really can't even hum very good, I used to be able to whistle, but now I can't do that for more than a few seconds before I am out of wind.

haha..I can't blink my eyes at christina aguilera oo0ps.. and you know what ... even a blunt back of the knife when you try to sharpen it using a sharpening stone slowly it will slice smoothly... If I have a good looking appearance I might give it a chance to show my talent..

Absolutely loved it!! :D I think you did a great job! We should definitely try to get a musician of some sort to put some more life to this and perhaps use it in future posts just for fun. :) I think that would be pretty cool. I guess there's still time for someone else to do something better, but.. So far I haven't seen anyone else enter a jingle that I remember.. However.. I haven't necessarily got to the other posts yet.. Been pretty overwhelmed and backed up. Thanks for the awesome entry! Ima keep an eye out for this one and hopefully we can get an artist to do something with this one even if it doesn't win the round, cause I think it's awesome! And I see no reason why we couldn't have multiple jingles. :D

Great work on this one you have my vote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46