The Joy We Bring To OtherssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #joy6 years ago

23DEC1A6-D32B-4386-9CC0-AD29823AB452.jpeg

It’s been raining all day long. It’s also very cloudy. Usually, with weather like this I would end having a bad day, but not today apparently; I had a very good night sleep, I guess that’s the reason why. I was feeling pretty good, so I made up my mind to call some of my family back home.

Before I go any further into the story, let me give you some insights about me first. Lately, I’ve been keeping about everything to myself, and been on radio silence to almost everybody. All that to say me thinking about calling anybody right now is out of character.

But anyway, I ended up making that call. And man did it feel good. We haven’t talked in months now; needless to say that we had a lot of catching up to do.

We reminisced about the old days a bit. Right after, we started talking about current events. We touched on serious matters here and there, but the conversation as a whole was fun, pure, and organic. I enjoyed every minutes of it. We laughed our bottoms off more than it’s humanly possible. #smiles

After I hung up the phone, I asked myself why don’t you to this more often? Why did you wait that long to make that phone call?

Having witnessed how much joy one single phone call has brought to both parties involved, it made me realize how selfish that was on my part to have restrained myself from taking that decision sooner. As per usual, I was too self-absorbed.

We tend to live in our head most of the time; as a result, before we do anything, we ask ourselves this question first, what’s in it for me? And we usually don’t act until we know for sure it’s either pain-free, rejection-free, or that our ego will be fed in the process. So much so we have forgotten what it feels like to bring joy to other people. What it feels like to make someone else’s day. Or what it feels like to give away the credit. But all it takes is one little selfless gesture like a phone call or holding the door for somebody else, for us to realize that it’s totally okay not to be the center of the world; or better yet, that we’re not alone on this planet and that random acts of kindness make the world go round.

Sort:  

I like the post he is inspired me

I called this a self-assessment post.
Well done.
You just know what you have in you and
give a projection out there.
I am telling you it is well received.
I know now you are a steemian for life.
Keep on steemin'

Thank you! That means a lot coming from somebody who’s already doing it. I was greatly inspired by your posts, especially those from your account @pouchon.

great post, kindness always wins 👍🏻 good vibes only!

Amazing. I find the last stanza of your write up really honest and wonderful.
The inadequacies around us are all challenges, I feel the individual is the real problem.
When we conquer the ego within, the best in others suddenly burst forth.
Thanks for sharing @gtrodargent

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47