I think we need more real bitcoin journalism

in #journalism8 years ago (edited)

Howdy fellow crypto-enthusiasts,

my name is Friedemann and I'm the editor of https://www.coinspondent.de, a German Blog about bitcoin and blockchain I started in the beginning of 2014, because there was (and still is) a huge lack of media coverage here regarding bitcoin and related topics. I don't mean news coverage (i.e. company X got a Z million founding press relation stuff) but real journalism that explores and explaines how bitcoin and the blockchain technology changes the world we live in.
So I started researching by myself and I 've written almost 600 Articles within the last two and a half years on my blog, produced some segments for nationwide radio stations, went to conferences and currently I'm even teaching bitcoin and blockchain at the university here in Leipzig (Department for media and journalism). So am I a bitcoin enthusiast? Yeah, probably. But I do not try to convince people to become fanboys and -girls. I try to make it as easy as possible to understand bitcoin and all the cryptocurrency stuff so the people can decide by themselves if bitcoin is interesting enough to spend time and money on it.
As you can imagine this post is kind of a test. How does steemit work? Is it worth investing time? Let's see. I'm curious.

Friedemann

Sort:  

I'm fairly new to the world of Bitcoin and crypto-currency, blockchains, etc. I've primarily used Bitcoin as a low-cost way of sending money overseas.

Having said that, I'm very tech savvy (a computer programmer by trade), and am good at understanding many of the abstract concepts that make up this world. But it is difficult to find information sources that relate to me. They're either dumbed down to the point of absurdity (mainstream media), or they're so technical, that I need to spend several hours reading background information, before I can even decypher (no pun intended... or is it?) what's being communicated to me.

I can't read your blog (don't speak German), so I can't tell immediately if your writing (style, content, etc) would fill the niche I'm looking for... but if it does, I would welcome it (on Steemit or elsewhere).

I studied political science, communication science and radio journalism, so I can't write too nerdy by default. I try to write for the interested layman. As bitcoin is a topic that's located beetween technology, economics and society we all are laymen somehow :)
It's a pity you do not find a good english source. I decided to write in German because there were so many blogs and magazins in English already. Have you tried one of these?: https://coinspondent.de/bitcoin-recherche/links/news-quellen/

Hi Friedemann, welcome to Steemit!
Most of the early adopters here a crypto veterans with deep knowlege in the field. However, as more and more users with limited to no background in crypto currencies are joining, your contributions might become sought after.
Looking forward to your upcoming posts!

Beste Grüsse,
shaka

Congratulations @coinspondent! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @coinspondent! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @coinspondent! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

thanks, that's very kind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43