Olympian Fig

in #journal7 years ago

A while ago someone posted some pictures of fig trees and it really got me thinking about planting another fig tree. We were shopping around Mother’s Day and there at the store was a group of perfect looking fig trees. I stared at them kind of wondering if I should get them or not. They were priced at $12 dollars so I thought why not.

I bought one and planted it in the front flower garden as a Mother’s/Father’s Day gift.

Olympian Fig

It stays pretty cool around here for any tree that likes warmer climates. It rarely snows but I had some reservations about how well the tree would do. I looked into it more and from what I have read, it has been growing around here for a hundred years and just recently was discovered and added to the market. It is very cold hardy and should do fine in warmer dry summers too.


Just Planted – Olympian Fig

There are two crops of figs per season. One from figs that winter over and ripen mid summer and one in the fall. The fruits have a violet skin and red flesh.

Read more on The Olympian Fig here.

Memories

I remember as a kid eating figs ripe off the tree in my grandparents house in California. There’s nothing like the taste of fresh figs off the tree - they were so much better from what I remember, than any I have yet to eat from the store.

Perhaps it had something to do too with the love I felt from my grandma as she encouraged me to, “Eat as many of them as you want.”

So juicy…


Olympian Fig In Garden

I’ve heard that figs are world’s oldest domestic crop from circa 11,400 years ago. I think we have a lot of collective memories of eating these juicy fruits. Perhaps it is the shape of the fruits or the color of the juice or pictures of half naked people clothed only in fig leaves - the fig can take me back to remember a time of innocents and abundance.

The Future

It sounds like it will take about five years to get any fruit off the tree. With any luck perhaps it will be sooner. A short time to wait considerings the years of domestication it took to get the fig tree to me in its present form.

Still I wonder if I will ever taste a fig off this tree. It seems so small it could easily make a meal for a passing deer at this point. The last fig tree I planted I never got to taste any fruit from because we needed to move before it grew large enough.

I’m happy with the thought that at least somebody someday may enjoy the taste of fresh figs. It doesn’t have to me.


Thanks for reading! I always appreciate your support! Pictures are taken by me with my Galaxy S7.

Sort:  

Delightful article. We planted a fig tree when my friend's dog passed from this world. That was about 4 years ago. The tree had two figs the first year and although it's grown in height there hasn't been a sign of it bearing any other fruit yet.

It did have one river stem growing from the base that was almost as high as the 'tree' and recently I cut it back. Maybe that will help.

But like you, I have to be content with knowing that maybe one day someone will really enjoy the fruit from this tree. A good way to think ~ And live by. 🙏 🍒 🙏

Thanks for your comment! It sounds like maybe you will be having some more figs soon.

I really like your posts and artwork too - you have posted many nice things.

Really hope so. So looking forward to having our own organically grown sun ripened figs.

Thanks so much. Makes me really happy to know you appreciate the work I've been sharing. I have to be very patient with my 'writing muse' as I've always found it challenging to actually explain the nature of my imagery. And sometimes she leaves me scratching my head for a while ~ Till something connects the different threads of thought. 🙏 🍃 🙏

Wow!! i love figs!! This is amazing!! Thanks for sharing! Upvoted and followed!! :)

Thanks! Glad you like figs too. Thanks for commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60