On Bitterness and the Lightening of the Heart

in #journal7 years ago

Morning Rumination

9/7/17


sunrise-320079_1920-thumbnail.jpg


sunrise-320079_1920 (4).jpg

Intro


sunrise-320079_1920 (6).jpg


Hello Steemians! Yes it's time for another addition to the journal. This time, let's have a brief intro so we are on the same page, so to speak. I was accused of my last entry being incomprehensible "gushing" with "lots of thesaurus abuse" sprinkled in. Cheers! The critics love me! [Disclaimer: no literary transmogrifiers were harmed in the making of this post. Let's take a stand against domestic book abuse, together]

This isn't an article, or an essay, or any such glamourous thing. It's not even supposed to be necessarily enlightening or even entertaining to read! It's just a somewhat stream-of-consciousness reflection on life. I am going to continue doing these, from time to time, because they are very cathartic for me, because switching up what I post will prevent me from burning out while blogging, and because I want to share a candid side of myself with my readers and friends. Now, ahem without any further ado:


sunrise-320079_1920 (5).jpg

Journal


sunrise-320079_1920 (3).jpg


The mind is a very interesting creature. Being aware of the fact that it is capable of acting as a self-fulfilling prophet is not generally enough to prevent such inward spirals of manifestation and meta-confirmation. For instance, I quite knew I would have trouble sleeping last night, because I need to be up early to go work in the greenhouse this morning. All the evening long, I kept affirming how I would probably have a hard time sleeping. Lo and behold! Here we are "gushing" on the computer console before the sun comes up, to what obstruse end, only God knows.

I find life to be the most wonderful adventure. At times, it is the most uproarious comedy of errors; it is practically a screenplay begging to be written. If only we can slightly detach ourselves from all the tedious details of our routines, our ant-like anxieties and concerns, we would see the grand humor in the paving of circumstance! So often we take our little lives so seriously that we fail to apprehend the childlike joy available in a lighthearted approach to being.

It is the over-preponderance of the bitter flavor, of which adults are so fond! We put our bitter black pepper on our bitter delicacies, drink bitter coffee and sip bitter ale. Then we have some bitter conversation about all the bitter news of the bitter broadcasts which cuts the bitter cold of the bitter winter. Now bitterness serves a dual purpose, that of a poison and that of a medicine. As everybody knows, the difference only lies in the dose. Or does it? Could we actually refrain from poisoning/medicating ourselves by reducing the amount of this "necessary toxicity" our astral livers have to process? (If you are still alive after the mass abuse of italics in that paragraph, you are a fine fellow indeed) [or fine gal, but ca'n't fellow refer to any old human, if I say so?] (side note: I simply adore the antiquated forms of contractions such as "ca'n't", don't you?)

Yes, the mind is truly labyrinthine, and extraordinarily immature, as well. It wants discipline, direction, and dedication to its rearing. Otherwise, it will ravage the body it is attached to, along with as much of the external world it can lay its mental paws upon, including other sentient beings! It is really a life or death requirement to train the mind. Many are quite lackadaisacal in this area, simply because it is presented as favorable in society to not develop the mind too much, lest you realize yourself as a sovereign being with near-infinite capability and take the powers-that-be's blueprint and muck it all up by becoming a bit too thoughtful. Education means a 'drawing out' of the innate faculties of the human, not the adding of anything new. Each person has an innate brilliance that is expressed to whatever degree it has been nurtured and allowed to come out. Somewhat like a shy woodland creature who is comfortable in its hole, only coming out when conditions seem favorable to it procuring some nutrients in peace!

As to not draw this entry out unneccesarily, I will leave off here. I hope to stimulate some discussion with these entries, so if you have any response or extrapolation to what was (rather precariously) mentioned in this rambling expedition of thought, I would love to hear your input. Other than that, I hope you have a wonderful day. I'm very grateful for all the friends I have made here so far. Thank you very much for being you! :o)


sunrise-320079_1920 (2).jpg

Cordially yours,
Daniel Pendergraft
@d-pend
9/7/17


sunrise-320079_1920 (1).jpg


Sort:  

The mind works as our slave piling up bricks like a tower of Babel.

Heading to work now; I'll respond to comments later this afternoon. Hope everyone has an awesome day!!!

Edit: my car engine decided not to function this morning, so actually I'll be around as of right now. I think I'll write a lil' poetry in the meantime :D

D-pend I really like the way you are able to put everything on the table. In a way, you are a very free spirit with a lot of passion and a lot of untapped knowledge that can't wait to come out. You are so right in that many don't feed their brain, that which is craving for more and more. Ever since I began writing, I have felt more alive and wonderful and learned so much in my research.

I did an article on neuroplasticity where the brain actually can heal itself. It is amazing how much we waste by doing mundane tasks and doing mundane activities with no awareness of what is around us. We don't allow our brains to grow and experience so it remains a mundane existence. Thank-you for your wonderful wake-up call! Keep writing and feeding your brain! :D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Sep 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has received a 5.56 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @d-pend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51