You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Pun Ever - (and it was kinda fun) ;)

in #jokes7 years ago

I have a scheme!!!! Well if you think thats bad, Dave...for me it was funny! You deserve to win hands down.

Me? I pun a lot, mostly unconsciously which is kinda ironic because the blog I write on here is mostly about BEING conscious!! About how connected we all are, not voodoo woo woo (see? there I go!) but how at the deeper levels ALL things are inextricably woven together...yes, even when we aren't aware of it.

Wishing you well, offering an uplift (upvote is such a clumsy word don't you think?) and following so I can learn more from you.

All good wishes for 2018
In peace, Lily ⭐️

Sort:  

Hi Lily, :) I'm glad you liked my sense of humor... Its nice to meet you on here and I'm following you too now. That's how we make connections, just like you did by jumping in with your terrific personality. I'm "up"voting you just because you were sincere and friendly (not because you think I'm funny) lol ;)

Aww Dave, thats some nice commenting you did right there...thank you!

Yes, I know of only one way to be...and that is indeed sincere....and all one can ever be, if you value truth and honesty...is yourself! Warts, quirks, weirdness and all, and yes, I am talking entirely for myself here!!! 😊

Sincere is one of those strange words that is in daily use, usually at the end of boring formal letters for example, but did you know it actually means "without wax"?

No? Perhaps I should explain. It comes from the days of ancient Rome where marble statues cost an arm and a leg (in Venus de Milo's case...quite literally!!!😊😊😊)

So the unscrupulous statue dealer would fill in the little cracks and chips with wax...making the statue less valuable and "tainted." Often the unwary buyer of such a statue would get home, plunk it in their courtyard and after admiring it, they'd go inside for a bacchanalian feast, or a cuppa, or whatever! Only to find, hours later, a puddle of wax, melted in the hot Roman sunshine, and a statue without arms, or a head and legs!! Very distressing... and hence the term sin (without) cere (wax) = sincere. And this is the real resaon we still use the term "yours sincerely" to this very day!

Odd we should still use that term when most people don't even know the true origins of its usage.

Its a funny old world isn't it? Have a lovely steeming weekend!
Yours without wax,
Lily ⭐️

omgosh that is super interesting. Make it a post, seriously. Just add some pictures and to help create the imagine and wallah you have yourself a great blog post... If you ever want to get access to free pics click here on unsplash.com... search for a topic and make sure you put a source underneath it

PS following you right back, Dave!

And make sure you come tell me when you do so that I can resteem it for you ;)

Wow, Dave what an inspired idea! I have literally got trivia like that falling out of my ears...years of stored data that no-one ever thinks about or even considers...I'm just weird that way and soak up bonkers facts and stuff like a sponge and its probably, after 50+ years of living, got to saturation point!

So thanks muchly for the suggestion...you're right its probably time I squeezed that sponge and it'll be interesting to see what comes out!!!

Thanks, again Dave for ALL your helpful thoughts and suggestions...its really kind of you!

Thank you VERY much...I will go now and wax lyrical 😊😊😊and let you know when its sincerely done!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54787.37
ETH 2302.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35