Looking For A Job Is A Lot Of Work

in #job5 years ago

On March 20th I was fired from my previous job. I was not overly stressed since I had an offer for freelance work for a startup company for better pay.

I did some work for that company in March, got paid (eventually, in May) but still didn't get a contract to sign. I didn't hear anything back from them since the beginning of April. Since I have no idea what's the status on the startup I've since begun looking for a job in earnest.

2113.jpg

I have redone my CV to reflect my enhanced skill set (since it was last updated in 2016 and I have learned a lot since then), I have reworked my Linkedin profile and joined lots of Facebook groups dedicated to hi-tech jobs.

I look at the jobs on Linkedin and Facebook daily but I only send out a handful of applications.

Part of the problem is that I'm not completely certain what it is I'm looking for. I have a wide skillset but its progression is nonlinear and I lack a degree in computer science that seem like the basic requirement in a lot of the jobs I'm looking at.

It doesn't help that I have 8 years experience as a programmer but in a language hardly anyone has heard of (Progress 4gl for an ERP company). I cannot count myself as a junior with that kind of experience but neither am I a senior since I lack the years of experience in full-stack for example. Since I'm looking for a full-stack job (JS, Node.js, React, MongoDB) it puts me in a bit of a disadvantage even compared to people who have just finished their BCS (Bachelor of Computer Science) degree.

I also have a background in art, design, and education. Ideally, I would like to find a job that would allow me to express all these facets of my skills.

To date, I only had one interview. It went well but did not blossom into a position - they were instructed to hire someone younger, inexperienced for half the pay.

As time goes on I feel the usual self-doubt that a lot of job seekers experience. Am I good enough? Do I have the skills required to even send out my CV for this position? Is my CV properly reflecting my skills and job history? Can I make it or my profile better in some way?

I have already reached out to friends and sent out CV's to be passed along to their respective HR (if applicable). Now it's just a waiting and numbers game of sending out enough CV's to hopefully find the right position for me.

I really hope to find a good, well paying, interesting job soon. Sitting at home and looking for a job is exhausting and the pay is suboptimal.

If you have any advice or know of a position that might fit my unique set of skills I'll be happy to hear it.

Sort:  

Heeeeeeeeeeeeey shakes hands. Looking for a job too. Sigh. Resentful process. Way to make a human feel disconnected, unworthy, desperate.

Looks at price of STEEM.

Nope.

I'll have to try harder ;-)

Good luck dear @mrlightning! Hope you find something that suits and pays you.

Thank you :)
It's lovely to hear from you again.
I hope you find something worthy of you as well.
Hugs.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Good luck with the search. Try also the stackoverflow to look for jobs. We had one lovely chap join this way.

You are good enough. Reevaluate your goals to get a more specific direction and work a little bit on profiling your CV for that. It doesn't have to be the best direction, just a reasonably narrow one to focus on. You can always change it off you find out you don't like it. It's just a job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98