You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Richard III (SWC)

She was the wife of Solomon Burnham. Also, the daughter of Thomas Emerson and Philippa Perkins. Thomas Emerson's father was Nathaniel Emerson, and I've seen his headstone in Ipswich, MA. It's pretty old, but the writing on it is still visible and readable.

I've got this particular Burnham line back to Sedgefield Parish, County Durham, England in the 1500's.

Sort:  

Nathaniel Emerson was born in Bishop’s Stortford, Hertfordshire, England and died in Ipswich, MA. His father was Thomas Emerson, born in Sedgefield Parish, County Durham, England, and died in Ipswich, MA. Thomas Emerson's father was Robert Emerson, who was born in County Durham, England and died in Hertfordshire, England.

I'll check out the Wishing Shelf Book Awards, as I've written three novels myself, and have two more in the works that should be published by sometime in April. Plus, I have tons of novel ideas after that. Being a novelist has pretty much been my goal for a career since high school.

I'll also check out the Richard III society, which I have heard of before, as well as your book on Kindle Unlimited.

Cool. They start the new contest after April when they announce the 2017 winners. Work at an audiobook company as well. Only they want a proven sales record.

No matches. On another note, our local history group is working on a cemetery project here. The famous person there named Nathaniel Myer. From PA, he moved to Ohio and became a congressman, before writing a diary about moving to Southern Oregon.

20171029_135540.jpg

There is probably a cousin connection. In fact, there just about has to be. It's probably among Robert Emerson's children. My guess is you're from one child's line and I'm from another child's line. My family tree is on my other computer, so I'll have to check it tomorrow. I've got nearly 30,000 names on there, and quite a bit of work on the Emerson family. I'll let you know if I find any kind of connection in my tree.

Here's the help Hugh Emerson offered from the Society. May it help you if it hasn't already:

"There is one other unique source of information from the 15th - 16th Century called the Weardale Chest. This contains legal documents going back to that time much of which concerns disputes between landlord and tenant farmers. There are several Emersons mentioned including a Robert Emerson in 1606 (see also WEC.99/1-29)

http://tinyurl.com/kx7wn67

Weardale at that time was divided into the Park Quarter and the Forest Quarter. It was owned by the Bishops of Durham then sold to Sir Arthur Hesilrige, one of Oliver Cromwell's supporters in 1650."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58