You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jerry Banfield (General Thoughts On Popularity And Social Success)

Tekashi69 is probably one of the savviest people right now in terms of staying in the limelight. He can be prettuy ignorant and does some stupid shit but hes always being talked about and always has a buzz on social.

Has putting the 100k in do you think its returned a profit for jerry?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Takashi69 has certainly somehow manufactured his way into fame. I mean you showed me that video of him doing the Pedigree on his side chick for views on Vine from years ago. None of this happened by mistake. Honestly most people are scared to put themselves out there. And going that route there would probably be a lot of moments where you would start to feel like a $5 clown at a street fair in Skeeterville Mississippi.

Yeah Jerry made a profit for sure. He got voted in the top 20 for his Witness which makes those guys bank.

Then essentially going from, "Beg for my upvote to You can buy my Upvote" was pretty profitable.

The reality is a large majority of the site turned into the bidbot situation. In some respects I kind of held onto the premise of what the site was originally intended for.

I thought the discussion of online fame or notoriety was an interesting one. I was listening to a Joe Rogan podcast on this topic and they were basically echoing the message if your willing to put yourself out there you can get famous or at the very least garner some bit of attention, sometimes the price may be your dignitity but it can be done. In a more positive message I really do think almost anyone can get some traction online, like you said if they are willing to put themselves out there. I think one of the top questions I see online is something to the effect of I want to start a youtube channel but I don't want to go on camera. Yeah ther's all different ways you could do this ie screencasts or top 10 videos and stuff like that but ultimately Youtube in many ways is a social media platform and to make a connection with your audience I think going on camera is really helpful. I think thats when my channel started actually gtting some traction, prior to that I was holding my hand over my phone screen basically just rambling to my phone like it was a podcast lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83