You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Accident Aftermath

Honey, that is just terrifying! May I share a word game I play with myself? I have fought PTSD, I understand it is a battle of body, mind and spirit. As a word nerd, this silly little thing my husband once told me has helped me over and over through the years. You are sort of a word nerd too, maybe it will help you...?
After an injury (Post-trauma) the normal, human thing to do is endeavor to avoid such injury in the future. It causes us stress to think we might experience it again. There is NOTHING about this process that is a "disorder." Humans experience Stress After Injuries. Post Traumatic Stress. It is NOT a "disorder."
Now then, there is a lot of healing still to be done, but at least "literally" you are back to "normal" already.
Much love and big hugs!

Sort:  

I agree that this should not be considered an illness any more than the concussion. It happened to you and any changes in you are coping mechanisms you are trying to get right for you. I say this as a psychologist who often deals with illness, but PTSD or acute stress are done to you - as fishyculture wisely observes and your efforts to recover are progressively better coping opportunities.

I absolutely agree with this. It should never be considered a disorder. That would imply there's something wrong when in all actuality it's completely natural.

Thanks for chiming in. For me, telling myself I had a "disorder" was bad medicine. My sweet husband has lived with my word obsessed silliness a long time now, and one day he decided to try to "cure" me of the word "disorder." It did not make the flashbacks or crying stop, but it let one part of me feel "better" and that was a start.

I like that. It's accurate- it can't be a disorder any more than than it could be a condition. It's a natural survival reaction to a horrible event.

Thank you hun <3

The key word in your reply being "survival." You made it!! Namaste'!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63