You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Accident Aftermath

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

I agree that this should not be considered an illness any more than the concussion. It happened to you and any changes in you are coping mechanisms you are trying to get right for you. I say this as a psychologist who often deals with illness, but PTSD or acute stress are done to you - as fishyculture wisely observes and your efforts to recover are progressively better coping opportunities.

Sort:  

I absolutely agree with this. It should never be considered a disorder. That would imply there's something wrong when in all actuality it's completely natural.

Thanks for chiming in. For me, telling myself I had a "disorder" was bad medicine. My sweet husband has lived with my word obsessed silliness a long time now, and one day he decided to try to "cure" me of the word "disorder." It did not make the flashbacks or crying stop, but it let one part of me feel "better" and that was a start.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72