My Darkest Night (SWC)

in #jerrybanfield7 years ago (edited)

2239-2048x1280.jpg

Image Source

Growing up as a preachers kid came with a box full of lessons. There were the good ones, bad ones and on some really odd days, ugly ones came along too. Everyday had its toll, same for the nights, but for that night of my encounter, I prefer telling it like this.

It all happened a couple of years ago, a decade maybe. I was young, not dumb and not broke. It was another one of those normal days were mama would prepare supper while I joined my siblings to feed my eyes with stuff from the TV eventhough I didn't understand most of what I was seeing.

"Come take your food" mama's voice called from the dinning room and like little chickens I and my elder siblings crawled out of our tents acting as though we weren't happy to be disturbed when in fact our joy knew not a bound.

My joy grew even bigger when I found a plate of hot beans and ripe plantain smiling at me from the table, this was my favorite. My love for this meal was big enough to make me trade the whole world for a pot of beans, as long as my Mum, Dad and my siblings weren't a part of that world.

I didn't waste much time with eating, I never did. From stories I've been told, I always went for a second third and maybe fourth round, smiles. "Thanks mum" I said smiling like I just won a lottery. Mum touched and then robbed my head, we said our good nights and just when I thought to retire to bed she calls out to me again "remember to say your prayers", I responded affirmative although I never for once said those prayers.

I hadn't slept for a couple of hours before I felt my windows open like there was a mighty wind rushing into my room, and then I felt a hard hand press against my neck and squeeze it down with great power like it wanted me dead, it actually did. I became confused, was I dreaming? Was I in a trance or by chance were me and death already holding hands? I had heard stories of witches oppressing people while in their sleep, but I was too little to comprehend them as false or fact. While my head thought to give answers to its question the hand on my neck pressed harder, maybe to get back my attention. I tried screaming, I couldn't hear my voice. I tried struggling, I couldn't even lift a limb. I was fully conscious of everything, and that was what terrified me the most. This was real in totality and I knew it.

In the middle of my fears and terrors, I could hear imaginary echoes of mama's advice from that evening, "remember to say your prayers". Guilt stricken, I started wishing I said my prayers as mama had instructed but I guess wishes are never enough. If I was to die that day, it would be fear to kill me. I could feel loads of shivers race down my spine, and up the same path. I couldn't understand, my eyes were open but all I could see was darkness, an unusual kind of darkness. Although everywhere was pitch black, it seemed like I could make out figures of other personalities present in my room apart from the one on my neck. It grew even worse and the room got fifty shades darker, my fears didn't help it. I was now young, scared and at the brinks of death. The grip became tighter, it was now like the other personalities had joined in the strangle game. I now felt my self struggle to gasp in the air that stood free above my nose. Just when I thought my end was come, an angel in the shape of my mum came to my aid.

I heard the door of my room squeak open, and immediately the hand released its grip. And now my eyes could see the light. It was mama, she had come to check on me but unlike the expected peaceful figure of her son snoring deep, she saw me sitting upright, breathing as heavy as the love she has for me, covered in sweat enough to make an ocean.

David! She called out my name as if she had problems recognizing me. A few minutes later, I tell her everything that just happened and she waves it off as a very bad dream. She said I could sleep in her room if I wanted, I did and that was all for that night.

4 years down the line, and that very bad dream plays in my sleep again, this time I was old enough to understand it was no dream. Hours have turned to days and days to years, so now I'm all grown up. Although the very bad dream and the strangling hand from that night hasn't come back, I still ensure to stay close to God and also say my prayers before my eye lids go for the long make out.

This experience is not so strange where I come from as I had heard stories from my school mates in school about their experiences. Tho rampant among children, adults too have this experience.

It is a general believe that witches and wizards are those who come to press or oppress victims and if this is a regular occurrence in your life, you are being hunted and under attack. After this encounter, most victims according to stories usually experience severe body pains, strange illnesses or some form of bad luck and other misfortunes. Some have lost their life's, but this happens in very rare cases and mostly after series of visitations. I experienced non of these repercussions as I believe my guardian angel was right on time. I have relived that night writing this, but it reminds me that there are powers out there that only a sovereign power can conquer and above all that there is a God who watches over all.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing, David. I know it takes a lot of strength to share vulnerable parts of your story, but I also know that it is healing to do so and it blesses many others. Including my :)

Thanks for reading, am glad it could bless you in some way

Thank you very much @davidekpin for writing this story about your experience and submitting it to SWC. I sent 12 SBD directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

@davidekpin this is @fuhreresu from pypt group this is some nice story dont be discourage, keep writing and coming out better.
@fuhreresu

Thanks a lot for stopping by and your kind words.

You Called us, I hope you got our Curation Votes...

Join @steemit9ja curation trails we vote quality member's posts every 2hrs until it get to your turn. Visit steemauto.com search and follow steemit9ja trail we vote members everyday!

@abuja-steem just upvoted this post. Help us to do more by upvoting this comment

Hi @davidekpin, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thank you very much @shadowspub

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34