Dreading the night-swc

in #jerrybanfield6 years ago

dreading.jpg

I am submitting this post as part of @jerrybanfield Supernatural Writing Contest!

I was enrolled in a 4 years degree course in engineering. At first it was fine but later as the semester progressed I started feeling a loss of purpose.
I started feeling low on energy and my attention span was greatly reduced. This was from the time I had moved to the new apartment. This was closer to the college and staying there all by my self was the thing that I wanted for quite some time.

This should have actually boosted my energy and spirits as I always wanted to stay away from the interfering nature of the hostel warden and the nosy P.G owner.
Actually it did work well for me in the beginning. I loved working on my project and studying on the terrace.

I Specially enjoyed sitting under the shade of the tree that covered a portion of the terrace. However soon after I moved in a couple of ravens started sitting on the tree. They would make their characteristic noises and I would feel distracted.

As I did not want to be distracted so I started sitting in my room for my studies. However my mind would invariably drift towards the birds and the ravens.

Then one night there was a big storm accompanied by lightning thunder and rain. A branch of the tree fell down and it destroyed the nests.
The ravens flew away and from that day my life changed.

Next Night I had a dream


The subsequent night I felt restless and could not sleep properly. I felt someone knocking at the glass pane of my window.
When I opened it I found a large bird trying to come into the room. The bird was big, ugly and forcing its way in to the room. I tried pushing it away but it was more powerful.
It pushed me away and I fell on my bed. It sat on the head post and started making loud noises as if it was calling someone.
I felt scared and sat up. I realized it was a dream or a nightmare would be a better word.

Next Night the same dream but it is getting worse


Next night I had the same dream except now when the bird made those sounds sitting on my bed more birds came in. They started attacking me with their beaks.
I again got up scared and drained of all energy.
This sequence continued and so did my miseries. Every day I would feel tired and drained. Lack of sound sleep made me red eyed and shortened my attention span and I started irritable. Most of all I dreaded night and sleeping to be in particular.
I even took sessions with the campus psychiatrist who prescribed some medicines but neither the medicines nor the sessions did me any good.

Mothers Know best


All though I had been talking to my mom almost everyday but I never mentioned what I was going through. However she felt that something was amiss.
I was away from my parents and family and the only relative I had was a distant aunt who stayed in another part of the city.
Mothers have a sixth sense and when her children are in some kind of trouble mothers invariable come to know.
Perhaps it was driven by this maternal instinct that she got in touch with the distant aunt of mine and asked her to visit me and see if everything was fine. Thus my aunt came to visit me and looking at my state immediately came to know that something was not right. She kept asking me what was troubling me and I confided in her and told her all I was going through.

Where Medicines fails Faith takes over


She said it was a matter for which she would have to consult a spiritual healer whom she knew well. Saying this went away at that time

The Message arrives with the bottle(s)


She came back soon after and this time she had 2 small glass bottle and a note scribbled on a piece of paper.
The note was an instruction that I sprinkle some of the water around my bed creating a circle. This was to guard me from the negative energy that flowed into my room every night.
The contents of the other water were to be consumed by me little by little in the next 3 days.
I was instructed to clean and inspect my room every day.
I followed the instructions and for the first time in many weeks I could sleep peacefully.

Second Night


I saw a dreams that the birds are in my room but as they try to cross the protective circle to reach me there are sparks flying out at places where they try to cross the circle. This caused their wings to catch fire and they retreat.
For the rest of the night it was a peaceful sleep. Next morning as I was making my bed and cleaning my room I found some black feathers under my bed. They had some red/brown smears on it that seemed like dried blood.
I immediately called up my aunt and told her about the findings. She instructed me to wrap the feathers in a paper without touching them.
I did as instructed. She came and took away the packet. She returned in the evening and brought with me a talisman to be worn around my neck and a totem to be hung by the window.
I did as I was told. I knew that things were progressing in the positive direction and I was gaining strength and things were moving in the right direction.

Another Dream


That night I saw that the birds came up to the window but the window was shut. I could see their shadows but there was something which was stopping them from trying to even knock or enter the window.

Next day I called up my aunt and told her about the night's happenings.
Everyday I used to communicate with here she would pass on my message and findings to her spiritual healer who would meditate and come up with the solution.
This time I got a message that her spiritual healer wanted to see me.
I went to meet him and he gave me a yellow cloth with symbols made on it.
I was to wrap it around myself like a shawl and meditate. He taught me the steps and asked me to perform the steps everyday.
Another thing that I was to do was give alms to the needy and feed a part of the food from my plate to the birds.
So as per the instructions I would take out a part of my food from my plate and keep it at a place where birds would come to eat it.
To my surprise when I did that a number of birds came but they did not eat. They sat there and waited. Then flew in two black ravens and they took a part of that food and they left. Thereafter the birds took the food.
The tree which had become desolate with no birds sitting there anymore was once again full of birds. Most importantly the ravens had come back and I did not mind the sounds they made.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chillpill from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 33.33 % upvote from @spotlight thanks to www.resteemit.com.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you very much @chillpill for writing this amazing story about your dreams and the birds, and submitting it to SWC. I sent 12 STEEM directly to your account for your participation in the contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70