Steps on Golden Spike Trail, Moab, UT

in #jeep6 years ago


Some "steps" I went down in the Jeep on the Golden Spike Trail in Moab, UT

Sorry it is a bit slow, I am still working on my video editing skills. But you can see how big the drops were in the pic. At the end, I pan backwards to look back up the obstacle.

The last 'step', you can hear the back of the Jeep hit and drag across the rock...


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That sound of the hit with the back at the end of the video really hurt. Did you do any damage?
You got to have a lot of patience from what I see to go over such obstacles I have to say, but I guess you have some years of experience.

I have a hook that I keep in my trailer hitch in case I have a big drop, and that is what made the noise in the video. It saves the bumper from taking all of the weight of a drop, and also protects the spare tire from being hit if there is a really big drop.

20181025_121648.jpg

I still dented the bumper at some point during that trip. They are plastic bumpers, and I plan on changing them out to steel bumpers this winter.

20181025_121700.jpg

One last thing, you can see that I have changed the tires since my Moab trip to something that is a bit better for the highway.

They are still 35' tires, but much less aggresive.

These ones really look a bit friendlier with the highway. I guess the beefier ones affect the fuel consumption also. You have had a good idea with the hook. It's useful when you're being hit from behind also...sometimes. The noise however of the last step on the video was harsh and looks like the bumper felt it. I wonder why Jeep doesn't build them with metal bumpers from the beginning... It's probably something with the design.

Adventure Mike, how'd you ever get Snubber?

just curious, Had to look it up:

snubber |ˈsnəbər|
noun
1 a simple kind of shock absorber.
2 an electric circuit intended to suppress voltage spikes.

There is a meaning that is not listed there.

Snubbing is a kind of specialty oilfield service. To perform that service is to snub. Someone who snubs for a living is called a snubber.

He snubs pipe.
He operates a snubbing rig.
He is a snubber.

If you google snubbing, you will find many articles, pictures and videos of the service being performed.

I am the regional manager for a snubbing and flowback (another oilfield service) company.

I started out as a snubber before I worked into management.

I knew there was something to it! Tough job, you must have worked your way up..

I wouldn't go down there. No way! Crazy stuff, @snubbermike.

Congratulations @snubbermike! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78