You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Bars / Drinking Spots (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–59 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

I remember people telling me no one drinks on the subway, but those construction workers sure as hell do from time to time.

Where are you in Japan, I've just arrived back recently in Tokyo

I think I followed you for a year before I realized you were in Japan, whenever you started making regular posts about it

Sort:  

I'm no longer in Japan. I left in 2005. So, my posts are more or less "history," but still relevant, I believe.

As for drinking on the subway, we did it not do that often, but during my 17 years in the country, I drank on the subway more than a few times. As long as we were civil and obedient, it was not an issue.

Yes, people will just turn a blind eye to it. I don't go out of my way to do it but when I used the Seishun 18 ticket, it was just too comfortable to enjoy the view with a beer, and I think there may have been once or twice after work I was with coworkers and just stressed. Not a big deal, but not something I want to make a habit out of :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45