Travel Tuesdays #12: Cafe De Copain Ningen Kankei Cafe/Pub in Shibuya, Tokyo

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

Ningen Kankei aka Cafe De Copain

I don't clearly recall my first visit to Ningen Kankei, but I know it was with my old DJ partner Yujiro sometime in the fall of 2001. I think we stumbled upon it. I'll never forget the comfort I felt walking into a European style pub as a stranger in a strange land. It's that comforting atmosphere and a good pint of beer that has kept me going back for about 16 years now.

Aside from the comforting atmosphere the food and the drinks are pretty good too. When you enter Ningen there are several trays at the counter with various sweets for you to choose from. It's always tempting for someone like me that has a sweet tooth to start out here. Often times when I've gone it's been in between meals so I'd grab a pint or two and a dessert, like the chocolate tart. (Check out my old flip phone)

As you wind around the bar you towards the cash register there are menus for the various food and drinks they serve. The spaghetti and fish and chips are always good, but it's the beer that I usually come for. At $4.80 a pint, or $6 for a "Half and Half" black and tan it's a decent deal. You can now get micro brews at many places the area for the same price though.

Besides beer they also serve wine and some limited cocktails. The food menu is large enough that most pallets will find something to please them, from salads to pastas and meat dishes.

Look at the separation on those pours. Believe me, everything tastes as good as it looks.

The interior of the cafe is French pub. Which I guess means English style woodwork with French cottage decor. I'm not sure though because I've never been to a French pub before, but sounds about right.

Source - Ningen Kankei

The atmosphere is quite lively at night. Even though it will seat about 75 people, when I was there last it was jam packed and quite loud. It's a spot more and more tourists seem to frequent which I guess lends credence to it's quality. Considering it's been there for over 16 years says a lot about an establishment in Shibuya. Turn around on places is pretty quick in this city.

The service is quite good too. Some of the staff speak English and are glad to assist you. One gentleman, maybe the owner, definitely the manager has been working there since I first started going. We got off on a rocky start as I use to use their power to charge my laptop and mobile phone. He caught me once and told me not to do it again, but since then has always been friendly.

If you're looking for a good cafe in Shibuya give Ningen a try. You might even bump into me there. I'm usually enjoying a pint while working on my MacBook.

Getting There

Ningen Kankei also known as Cafe De Copain is located on a small side street in the heart of Shibuya, Tokyo. It's about a 5 minute walk from the station, just off Inokashira Dori. From the station head down Inokashira Dori, hang a right at the last side street before the police box in the center of the road. Or make it easy on yourself and just google map it.

Thanks for reading!

!steemitworldmap 35.661145 lat 139.698935 long Ningen Kankei aka Cafe De Copain - French Style Pub with good beer and food. Look for @rt395 hanging out there! d3scr


Our Steemit Blogger Central Discord community is here:

Discord:
https://discord.gg/e5XFZKa

Sort:  

This is great review @rt395. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Thank you for reminding me @choogirl. @steemitworldmap is one of the most useful apps I've used outside of Steemit. Pinned and done!

Awesome. I'm glad you like it!

That's a fantastic discovery.

Thanks @eroche. How do those pours look to you?

I have to tip the hat to you though. After reading about your pub experiences, I thought I know of quite a few pubs in Tokyo and I should write about them too. There really are so many amazing places in the city so I've got lots of material to work with. One I've been holding on to for a bit is about visiting one of the best bars in the world in Tokyo. It was an amazing experience and my hosts paid for my drinks! Cheers.

Strange place to find in Tokio, great discovery! I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I always accept OCD nominations. Thank you.

Wow! Your history here goes back a ways. Looking at the pictures, I swear I've been there but the place I'm thinking of definitely isn't in Shibuya.

Ya, I've got a long history in Tokyo, and I still don't know about 70% of the city.

Does Niigata have any places like this? Would love to hear about them.

I'll have to get some of the SteemCityNiigata boys reporting on them. I don't get out much these days, so I'm not sure what we have anymore. I know there used to be a few places somewhat similar to this, although I can't think of any that offer cake like this place does.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=rt395
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-tuesdays-12-cafe-de-copain-ningen-kankei-cafe-pub-in-shibuya-tokyo


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56