A Thank You & Japanese Community Update

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

In January of this year I was given a delegation of 3,000 sp to help grow the Japanese community. It was donated to me and 3 other Japanese Steemians by a Korean whale who wished to remain anonymous. I want to say thank you to him for his selfless contribution to helping the Japanese community. 

At the same time, I was invited to help advise the Japanese community and became one of the Steemit-jp core members. https://www.steemit-jp.site

During the past 6 months I did my best to spread the voting rewards amongst all of the Japanese community without passing judgment on their content, as long as they made an effort. My reasoning was that the Japanese community was tiny, only around 100 -200 active users and even less daily users. I saw my job as supporting everyone to encourage them to carry on, learn steemit and most important recruit their friends to grow the community.

For the first few months I never self-voted, nor voted for my alt community account, @japaninpictures. However, recently I gave in and voted for myself and my alt at 50%. I may have done a few 100% votes on my alt account.

One of the most challenging things in life is to stay true to yourself and your beliefs when people around you don't share those beliefs. I am proud of how I spread the rewards around, just disappointed I couldn't give more. You can view my voting habits as well as everyone else's here: http://steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=rt395&days=31

Anyway, in speaking to @steemitjp, who was the person who secured the delegation from the Korean whale for us, we agreed it was time to pass the delegation on to a new batch of Japanese Steemians. To pass the torch. It was a difficult thing to do, to be honest, but the right thing to do.

The whale has divided up the prior sp he delegated to us into 1,000sp blocks to the following Japanese Steemians:

@kayoko @crypto.hack @childcare @shogo @ultraseven @mnsk0619 @kinakomochi @moromaro

and 2000 to @yoshiko.

To those members, do your best to support the community. I know each of you already does, but don't forget, new members, look up to you as examples. Help them, lead them, show them you are the good people I have met in person and not some petty, cold, judgemental overlords like other communities. Helping new members helps you and Steemit in the long run.

Having said that, since my voting power has gone down and the Japanese community is growing I will now be picking and choosing whom I vote for based on merit. I'd like to hand out 100% votes more often to make it count and support and help educate more "jp-newbies". 

As for other things happening in the Japanese community, we recently met to address our progress after receiving the 250,000 sp delegation to the @steemit-jp account. 

  1. We agreed to set aside a fund through @steemit-jp to immediately sign up new users by paying for their accounts. Waiting a week for approval, while totally understandable, is a huge barrier to entry.
  2. Set a goal to sign up at least 1000 new Japanese users by year-end.
  3. Participate in events on college campuses, tech/trade shows and other events. - side note, @moromaro gave a great presentation of Steemit at an event called Techain. He was also able to sign up several new users. Check out his slideshow​​w in his post here: https://steemit.com/japanese/@moromaro/techain-alis-primas-steemit-steem

There were several other topics discussed, including charity​ which leads me to the devastating flood in Western Japan. We are collecting SBD donations for the victims through the @steemit-jp account. Please consider donating.

@crypto.hack and @ytrphoto are doing great things by accepting steem as a payment option and using it! Check it out here: https://steemit.com/japanese/@crypto.hack/steempayco-ytrphoto

That's it for now. Due to my work on Acuitas, https://www.acuitas.app I am not posting to Steemit as much as I would like to. It has nothing to do with Steemit, it's just difficult finding the time.

As always, thanks for reading.

https://www.acuitas.app"

I am part of the @Steemit-jp Japan & @SoCalSteemit communities. Please consider supporting them with delegations and upvotes for unique & interesting content!


Sort:  

I didn't know that @japaninpictures is your alt!
Anyway, well done in building and growing the jp community. I can see that it is now bigger and stronger than 6 months ago.
Good luck to your new venture.

Ya, thought I should make it public. I started it as a community account, but no one wanted to do it lol, so it's just me..... until I find others who want to join.

Thank you for the positive thoughts and contributions to the Japanese community.

応援ありがとう!

Thank you for your article. And sorry for late for reading. And I also advice to change delegation mamebers . Some members already can use many tool and deceived curation reward by using bot. Surly they contribution to japan community. But it’s time to change for many new challengers with valuable SP delegation. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43