You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I traveled to Japan and accomplished one of my dreams part 3

in #japan7 years ago

I'm envious. I made a pact with my brother when we were younger that we would go to Japan. We haven't made it yet, I'm not giving up hope yet. I hope you enjoyed the trip. How's o'hare these days, when I was as kid we always avoid that airport. We used to fly out of Midway.

Sort:  

It was crazy, just so big and just trying to figure out which terminal to go through was something totally unreal. Going through security was not nice, I made a mention of in the post about how this security guard was droning the same instructions in a loud voice over and over again. You could literally hear the contempt in their voice when people made mistakes. My brother was mad because he forgot that his belt had a mental prong and so he set off the metal detector.

Good luck with going to Japan, I got fed up and decided to choose a hard date and just went for it. I would recommend​ if you​​r really want to go, choose a date, tell your brother and go for it.

Yeah, with security being the way it is I guess all airports are now a pain. I use to fly fairly often but now I would rather drive if possible.

Do you speak Japanese? I am taking some online studies and I know a little. Enough to get something to eat and get to a bathroom. Money is a little confusing but mostly I figure if you drop the last two digits off the price, that will be approximately what it cost in dollars. I will keep prodding my brother to go. More power to you to just set a date and go. I'm sure it will be worth it.

Have a nice day.

You don't really need any Japanese going there, pretty much all the signs in the cities are in 4 languages (jp,cn,kr,&en). Learn the language if you like it or want to learn it and use it when you go if you want to, but don't let that stop you.

I say, just make a decision and carpe diem. If it's important to you, do what you need to make it happen.

Thanks, I also see that they put pictures on restaurant menus so you can just point to order. Good advice, 'Seize the day'. I haven't hear that since high school Latin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28