How I traveled to Japan and accomplished one of my dreams part 3

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

hero-slide-japan.jpg

3 Midwesterners to Tokyo

In my previous posts, I had talked about all the planning and financing I had gone through before I went to Japan. In this post, I will be covering how my trip to Japan went, specifically the first day.

While I am talking about this trip I want you to keep this in mind: We were 3 white guys from the Midwest, one who had never flown before, none of us have ever been on an international trip and the biggest city we had ever been to was Chicago but that was only for a day. Oh and I forgot to mention none of us have ever used a subway or train before.

Yeah, it was one hell of an adventure and the 3 of us desperately want to go back again because this was such an incredible, fun time that we wouldn't trade for anything.

The Flight to Tokyo, Japan

12107886_1216984294983555_7504017667065705213_n.jpg

We left from Chicago O'Hare at 6 am on the 29th of March. There was such a disconnect for our first international flight and it began soon as we tried finding the Air Canada terminal but eventually, we found it, went through security with a security guard droning the same instructions over and over again in a very annoying tone.

Photo Mar 29, 6 04 49 AM.jpg

There was some sort of school that had booked most of the plane to Vancouver, though I wasn't too happy with one of the teachers. The idiot delayed the plane because he had been sucking down a gigantic cup of coffee while waiting for the plane and the coffee decided to come out 10 seconds before we were supposed to take off. After a 10 minute delay for the coffee idiot, we were cleared for takeoff and away we went.

dscn0047.jpg

Vancouver International Airport was interesting, I especially liked the aquarium they had inside of it. I had a meal, did my daily toiletries before trying to take a nap since it had been 18 hours since I had slept. I failed and after what felt like an eternity the final leg of our flight began.

Photo Mar 29, 6 26 08 PM.jpg

The next 12 hours and 45 minutes were not very pleasant for me, I am a big guy and after 6 hours the thin seat cushions, small seats and restricted legroom starting taking its toll. Towards the end of the flight, I was standing more than sitting, trying to shake the kinks out. All that went out the window once we landed at Narita. Finally, after 20+ years of dreaming, I had made it to Japan.

The Disaster of Narita

Entering Narita International Airport was a disaster. We landed at 1 pm and apparently Narita was swamped that day, half of the escalator walkways were shut down. Then we hit customs, which was a sea of people as far as the eye could see, the Narita's Free Wi-Fi couldn't handle the load and was going down every 20 seconds and the ac units couldn't handle the amount of people so it was like a sauna.

It took close to 3 hours just to pass through customs, then finding our checked luggage was a pain due to them being so swamped they put it on the floor in a corner with a small sign with the flight number.

We then ran into the next problem, with Narita's Free Wi-Fi being down I had no way to use Google or Apple Maps so I went to my backup, 2 of us had installed Project Fi Data sims into our phones but for some reason it wasn't connecting even though in Vancouver it connected without a problem. My 3rd backup was Maps.me(downloaded to my phone) but I hadn't realized that Narita wasn't part of the Tokyo district data I had downloaded so it kept prompting me to download it. So the 3rd backup was a failure.

I had memorized what to do when landing in Japan but by this time I hadn't slept in over 30 hours, was tired, sweaty and feeling extremely dirty so I was having difficulty remembering but I had one final hail mary. My Airbnb host had sent me a pdf I had downloaded from Line and it should have detailed instructions on how to get to the Airbnb from Narita. It did and finally, we had a way out of Narita Airport and into our Airbnb.

3 Americans lost in Tokyo

Remember what I said to keep in mind when reading this post? Tokyo would give us one last surprise before we would make it to our Airbnb. That surprise directly comes from our inexperience with the subway system and with how the Japanese use signage. We had 2 transfers to make before the train station for our Airbnb would be reached and the first transfer was the most complicated.

Due to our inexperience during this transfer, we didn't realize that the Japanese subway systems will only show the subway line symbol(color) and the directions to go when you are still far away from the line you are looking for. They expect you to continue heading in the direction you were pointed to until you start getting close to your destination and only then will they start showing the lines symbol with more detailed directions.

tumblr_n9cwvmipZs1qifn2ao1_500-3259.jpg

5457938783_41b1a5903a_b.jpg

So being unaware of this and not quite realizing just how big these subway stations were, we went the completely wrong direction and ended up on the wrong side of the Shinjuku subway station at night. What do you think could happen to 3 foreigners lost in Tokyo at night?

Not much actually, finally realizing our mistake after 30 minutes of wandering around cursing(in our minds) we managed to get a nice person to show us where to go and how to get there. We managed to make the final transfer without a problem and got off at our local train station, using Maps.me and the Airbnb pdf we made it to our little Airbnb. Finally, after 34 hours I could sleep but I did have a worry that was starting to ferment in my mind, I hadn't gone to the bathroom in 28 hours... uh oh.
Photo Mar 30, 6 41 36 PM.jpg
Photo Mar 30, 7 21 00 AM.jpg
The 1st picture is a pano from my Airbnb deck and the second one is a picture of our first meal in Japan.

Part 4 of How I traveled to Japan and accomplished one of my dreams will hopefully be posted tomorrow.

Sort:  

Oh Hey, I'm originally from Chicago. Bummer about the travel woes. bet you were exhausted after all that. The subways there are pretty dang huge and somewhat confusing, so I can understand getting lost. I landed in Haneda instead of Narita because I missed my connecting flight. Was really freakin chill airport. we were through security in like 10 minutes and the train leaving there was nearly empty... course we arrived pretty late at night.

You were there pretty close to when I was, dang. Pretty cool. You gonna go again // travel anywhere else?

I plan on going again. That's actually one of my goals by posting on Steemit, hopefully, if I earn through my posting I can gather enough money to go again in 2018. Otherwise, ​it's going to be another year before I can make it back.

I'm envious. I made a pact with my brother when we were younger that we would go to Japan. We haven't made it yet, I'm not giving up hope yet. I hope you enjoyed the trip. How's o'hare these days, when I was as kid we always avoid that airport. We used to fly out of Midway.

It was crazy, just so big and just trying to figure out which terminal to go through was something totally unreal. Going through security was not nice, I made a mention of in the post about how this security guard was droning the same instructions in a loud voice over and over again. You could literally hear the contempt in their voice when people made mistakes. My brother was mad because he forgot that his belt had a mental prong and so he set off the metal detector.

Good luck with going to Japan, I got fed up and decided to choose a hard date and just went for it. I would recommend​ if you​​r really want to go, choose a date, tell your brother and go for it.

Yeah, with security being the way it is I guess all airports are now a pain. I use to fly fairly often but now I would rather drive if possible.

Do you speak Japanese? I am taking some online studies and I know a little. Enough to get something to eat and get to a bathroom. Money is a little confusing but mostly I figure if you drop the last two digits off the price, that will be approximately what it cost in dollars. I will keep prodding my brother to go. More power to you to just set a date and go. I'm sure it will be worth it.

Have a nice day.

You don't really need any Japanese going there, pretty much all the signs in the cities are in 4 languages (jp,cn,kr,&en). Learn the language if you like it or want to learn it and use it when you go if you want to, but don't let that stop you.

I say, just make a decision and carpe diem. If it's important to you, do what you need to make it happen.

Thanks, I also see that they put pictures on restaurant menus so you can just point to order. Good advice, 'Seize the day'. I haven't hear that since high school Latin.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69