Top 3 Stages Experienced by Expats after Arriving in Japan (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–2 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago (edited)

“An even-tempered love-hate relationship with the country.”

This country is great.

After a few years of living in Japan and getting used to the country, my friends and I had developed an even-tempered love-hate relationship with the country.

We no longer loved it. (Stage 1, “Japan is unique and wonderful,” which occurs shortly after stepping off the boat.)

It sucks.

And we no longer hated it.

(Stage 2, “Damn, this country is really screwed up,” which occurs after getting a hefty dose of reality, Japan-style.)

This stage usually begins a few months after arriving in Japan. It can last for years, but most foreigners manage to get through this stage after about a year of bitching, moaning, griping, cursing, and complaining.    (Image source)

Hmmm, maybe it’s not so bad after all.

We had passed through the above 2 stages, we had learned to speak the language, and we generally looked at the country with bemused interest.    

Those who reach this stage can have a decent, rewarding, and comfortable life in Japan. But for those who do not make it to this stage, their Japan experience will continue to suck, in many ways. (See #2)    (Image source)

   Introduction to – “Notes from Under the Tatami Mats”  (right-click on title)

Top 3 Appropriate Nicknames for Japan
Top 5 Ridiculous Comments by Japanese about the Outside World
Top 3 Ridiculous Questions by Friends Back Home
Top 3 Exceedingly Overused Japanese Words
... and more

Links to my Other Series …

      Introduction – "Intro to Vocab-ability"   (right-click on title)
      Guide – "Guide to Entries"   (right-click on title)
      Index– "Index" to all Chapters and Sections   (right-click on title)

      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 1"   (right-click on title)
      Lou Reed – "Anthology of Memorable Lyrics, Part 2"   (right-click on title)

Images sourced from Google Images, unless otherwise indicated or unless my own.

Sort:  

The three stages of an expat mentioned by you is very true. Forget a different country , I feel these three stages when I am in a different location inside my own country. I believe no matter how big a traveler you are, you will always miss the comfort of home. Speaking of Japan, have you ever been to India? I would love to hear your experience of our country , because you have a unique way of telling your life experiences :)

Thanks for your comment. Definitely, those stages are relevant to any country, and to any region. And even to any different surroundings.

In fact, after Japan (and then after 3 years back in Canada), I moved to India. Since I'd gone thru the major culture shock in Japan, I did not have it to any great degree in India.

Nevertheless, India was an incredible experience, albeit in quite a different way from my Japan experience. For one thing, even tho I could get by in India by speaking English, I never really felt at home there. (I did feel quite at home in Japan during my later years there.)

As for any "Notes from Under the Banyan Tree," I doubt if I'll get around to making them. It's been 5 years since I left India, and I never composed any lists or notes re my experiences there. Still, maybe I should consider doing such a series after I complete this Japan series, even if it's only 20–30 posts.

Japan I believe is far more technically advanced than India. They are more disciplined and follow public rules and regulations to the core, unlike India, which I think you would have experienced . Anyways, I would love to see your post about India.

Also I read in @gandhibaba's post that you have a vocabulary post, Please let me know what it is all about and how can I take part in that series as well. Thanks :)

Truly, India was in many ways the direct opposite of Japan. And I don't mean that in a complimentary way. India has it's great points, but sometimes, it could be a real challenge just going out into the cities and into the crowds.

Here's my latest Vobab-Ability post. ... https://steemit.com/vocab-ability/@majes.tytyty/vocab-ability-99-grav-heavy-a-more-powerful-vocabulary-earn-upvotes-with-vocab-practice-exercise

Just read the rules and follow the guidelines (in the 2 large brown boxes). Then make sample sentences (as you will see that others are doing).

Good luck!

Very true, It is difficult for even Indians to travel within the country and reach back safe :( , However life goes on and we have got used to this now. As they say if you cant change something, adapt to it :)

I will start following the Vocab- ability posts from today :)

I really want to live in Japan one day! Hopefully I'll get through stage 2 okay

Stage 2 just takes an open mind ... and a bit of time. Good luck if and when you get to Japan.

this three reason is right. one day i also stay in japan.

hi @majes-tytyty nice post
you upvote me & i also upvote you
I recently got Steve, together with you I decided that we can achieve a lot and develop rapidly. Let's increase steemit strength together. I follow you and you enjoy new acquaintances following me! ;) I will upvote you, you give me upvote plz

The way to have your posts upvoted is by creating posts with high-quality content. If you do so, others will upvote your posts.

If you ask, request, beg, implore, or plead for upvotes, you will NOT get (m)any votes at all.

If I were you, I'd revise me strategy. I'd refrain from asking for upvotes, and would concentrate on making quality posts.

Good luck.

@rtreleas you can take the noble advice above to the bank. The best way to grow is to show your worth. Of course, thru your blog posts.

I agree..nice reply sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84