You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ふく福 : Taking a chance on luck - Lone foreigner walks into locals’ bar...

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

Sounds like a great evening. I recall many a time when I'd wander into a neighborhood izakaya and be made to feel right at home by the owner / chef or by a few locals sitting at a table. Almost instantly.

I always felt that that was quite remarkable, since Japan is in many way a somewhat "alien" culture to our western sensibilities. But in an izakaya or a mini karaoke / "snack" bar, any obstacles to intercultural communication would disappear for the duration of our stay in those places.

Of course, the booze helps, but that's not the only thing. In an izakaya, an outsider can be made to feel welcome / at home, much more so than would happen in most bars / pubs in the west.

Sort:  

Man, you really said it all here. There’s something about an izakaya that’s just different, isn’t there?

This was probably only my second or third time doing this, but this time it was with full intention and at a completely new place in a completely different neighborhood (my new neighborhood).

Mad props for doing this many times. I feel like I surpassed some sort of mental blockade last night.

Thanks for the great comment.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49