What's it like being an anarchist in Japan? Doesn't it suck??? (Answer to a commonly asked question)

in #japan7 years ago

IMG_2687.JPG

Believe it or not this post was inspired by a guy taking a piss in public.

As I was on my run tonight, I rounded a curve to hear the sound of water splashing on the ground. I looked across the street and saw an old man taking a leak on a telephone pole. I was reminded of the public urination riot that I read about once taking place here. I was further reminded of a comment on one of my previous posts that I was never able to get back to, but which has stuck with me. I get comments like this quite regularly, considering that I am not a really well-known blogger at present:

Doesn't it suck being in Japan??? It is one of the most collectivist, authoritarian countries there is!

Well. Yes, and no. The thing is, surprisingly to some, I find my life here in Japan to be much more libertarian friendly than t ever was back in the states, with a few exceptions. Let me lay it out for you.

THINGS YOU CAN DO IN JAPAN:


  • Take a leak in public without being listed as a registered sex offender.
  • Drink alcohol in the streets, at the beach, and at most parks.
  • Breastfeed (women, of course) your child freely (no one is "scandalized") and with the support of almost all medical institutions.
  • Be remarkably secure in your personal possessions in public.
  • Drive rental cars without showing your license.
  • Open small businesses with minimal to no red tape, regulations, licenses, and hassle.
  • Make purchases with Bitcoin and utilize Bitcoin ATMs.
  • Talk about your body, bodily functions, sex, and other "taboo" topics largely without the childish shame, guilt, "scandal," and uncomfortable joking found in Western culture.
  • Freedom (for now) of choice regarding vaccination.
  • Pretty much do your own thing and be left the fuck alone, generally speaking.

Now, these are of course generalizations, but as generalizations they hold true here, in my experience. There are many ways in which Japan does suck, some of which being the Draconian gag laws stifling the press, laughably (if not for being so pathetic) strict laws and punishment for possession of marijuana and other substances, and a lemming-like collectivist mentality that can be found in the culture which praises the "virtue" of following the leaders and "the group," as superior to individual dissent and thought.
Japan.jpg

Final Thoughts.


I am an anarchist. All violence-based, coercive nation states are illegitimate in my view. But, when it comes to anarchists or libertarians asking other anarchists or libertarians: "What are you doing in ------- ? Doesn't it suck!?" I think an important point is often missed. Ironically, it is that the conduciveness of a given country to freedom for a given individual is a largely individual matter. We all have our choices and preferences. We'd be missing the point to return to implicitly arguing for the nation states we so vehemently oppose by arguing that any VIOLENCE-BASED STATE is a bastion of freedom. Sure, some are much better than others. I have no interest in going to live somewhere under Sharia law, for instance. But, when it comes to Japan and the USA, it kind of all seems to balance out to me.

Smoke cannabis here: 5 years hard labor, bitch. In Chicago: Gimme a hundred bucks, kid. Now get outta here.

Don't vaccinate here: That's your choice as a parent. California: Vaccinate or we will steal your child from you.

Japanese guy: sipping beer in park "We are not that smart and free like America." American guy: "I love being free. I would hate to live in Ja...OH FUCK HERE COME THE COPS! DITCH THE BEERS! WE CAN'T DRINK HERE!"


VJ Banner.jpg

See what I mean? 6 of 1. Half a dozen of the other.

I guess to me Japan is still the baker's dozen, because, for me, I am much more free to be myself here than I ever was in the states. But that is just my story. What say you, international Steemians!? How free do you feel where you are now?

(NOTE: I am still quite conscious that I am no friend of the state, and it is possible to be locked away potentially just for my anti-taxation posts, etc, I make here on social media. This actually makes me feel quite nervous. But hey, shit in the states isn't much better with the emerging police state. Recently I think a focus on growing food, building communities, and self-defense is paramount in these fucking crazy times. If some other option opens up that is much more free, I will go there!)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

I love answering the question of "freedom" levels in different places. You nailed it. I've lived in the US, Japan, Thailand, and Saudi Arabia. They all have "freedom." but determining the level depends on the particular situation. In Saudi, you're basically free to do whatever you want out in the desert. Nobody will bother you. Not so in any Saudi town. The oppression is well known. Japan has a lot of freedoms the US doesn't and vice versa. Thailand feels freer than the rest, but that is largely due to the fact that I'm usually on vacation there, plus being a foreigner you're kind of outside of most societal pressures that limit freedom. Also, I'm always on a motorcycle there with "Born to Be Wild" stuck in my head.

But I'm pretty sure, it must be hard to understand what freedom is without having lived abroad. It's not one thing.

Love this comment. Thanks. :)

Great post. Well, here in Brazil the state is so big and I hate it. Brazilians in general (not me) like to trust in the State and in the promises and goodwill of the politics, despite all the corruption scandals. It is almost an oxymoron here.

Rouba mas faz, am I right?

Interesting post.

When it comes to state interference and oversight, Ireland is not too bad. You don't have to register your address with the local authority, as you do in many European countries, and if you keep away from the state they tend to leave you alone. Yes, there are restrictions on drinking in public and weed is illegal but few take any notice of that stuff. I'm not saying it's an anarchist utopia or anything and it's likely a lot different if you're employed, have a business or have kids in school. One thing I do like here, is that people are less inclined to snitch on each other to the authorities.

I lived in Holland for 15 years and there, people seem to have less suspicion of the state. There is compulsory registration, compulsory health insurance and a requirement to carry identification making it feel, to me anyway, infinitely less 'free'.

In all my years in Ireland I was never once accosted by the police and during 15 years in Holland, I had four, yes four separate run-ins with them.

No offence intended to any Dutchies. It's a wonderful place to live for many. many reasons.

A friend of mine studying in Kyoto once told me, "The Japanese don't have the Christian guilt & shame regarding sex and the body that we Westerners do.". Parents bathe with their children until much older than is acceptable beyond western norms and beyond that males and females bathe together and publicly. That was a challenge when I first came to Japan and used a public bath in Yoyogi for the first time. Quickly came to find out no one really gave a shit I was there showering.

As far as freedom goes, yes having a cold one while walking down the street is nice but... i can't really think of something to compare it to back in the states at the moment. I will say though we can get away with a lot of things in Japan because we are gaijin, not part of their system. There is a time when you can become part, when you obey the social norms and become an upstanding citizen. As an individual I'll probably never get there. Until then though you can get away with things like telling your bucho you won't endanger yourself on the job or how you think another way of doing it would be better or how it's Sunday and there's no fucking way you're working 7 days a week.

Both countries have their positives and negatives. I feel more secure under the law in the states than I do in Japan, but I know in Japan I can get away with things by saying a few moshiwake arimasen deshitas than I could in the states. Additionally in California I have tons of rights that my employer can not infringe on, whereas in Japan labor protections are a joke, HAAAAAGEEEEEE!!!!

Both countries are free in their own way, and I love both of them, but in the states I have rights enshrined into law that I do not have in Japan. Now, pass me a cold one.

I didn't know Japan allowed this much freedom for the people... Now I want to live in Japan :( Here in my country none of these things are allowed, so yeah, not really free.

In terms of people, imho, Japanese are somehow more advanced minded than Americans (agreeing on your point when people talk about private parts freely and open to such discussion). Not generalizing though, it goes to a certain extent and it has own advantages and disadvantages. Great Post!

A very good point you have there. Over here in the Netherlands people ask what the hell libertarians are doing here with the welfare state and all. The thing they don't know is that the Netherlands is still one of the freer countries out there. Besides, why aren't you allowed to be in a place that you want to see become freer?

I remember a story from Burma/Myanmar when it was a full-on military dictatorship. An American financial journalist went to the doctor in Rangoon, and the doctor didn't understand why he was fishing for a recipe. If you want to buy medicine, just go to a pharmacy! No recipe required. In other words, under an repressive regime he was free to take care of his body as an adult in a way he wasn't used to in Western countries.

So you can find freedom in unexpected places. I don't think the regime had any intention to be libertarian. The health of its citizens probably wasn't a priority. And I think your medical freedom of choice stops at ruining herd immunity and infecting kids or people who can't be vaccinated for medical reasons.

Interesting stuff about Myanmar! It is strange, the places where freedom is found.

I have written extensively on the myth of vaccine-induced herd immunity. You can check out my posts on the topic here, here, and here. My freedom to protrect my child from harm as I see fit as a parent is not dictated by others.

Burma/Myanmar is very much rooted in Buddhism which is purely based on personal growth, self-help, Being the master of your own life and absolutely not relying on any outside help for salvation. Buddhism is practically the anti-religion when compared to Christianity of Islam. Half of Japan is also Buddhist and those cultural roots gives the country a serious edge. If you take some time to watch some anime you'll find so many things that would be completely unacceptable in Hollywood but isn't a big deal in Japan.

All people on Earth live in states / prisons. Some of them are strict regime, others are softer. But they are all prisons.

Very interesting my friend, most countries have their good and bad points. But most of the bad points are because of their governments. Thanks for sharing.

But most of the bad points are because of their governments.

Haha. You said it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77