Reasons Why I Love Japan, Vol. 1 - Bizarre Characters and Game Concepts: Ojimon! “Old Man Pokémon”!

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

Starting a new blog series today, which will feature short vignettes about some of my favorite aspects of life here in Japan.

Today...

おじモン!O-JI-MON! Ojisan (old man) mon (monster) see: Pokémon.

3B2E7A6B-D8A2-44F7-8A1F-FB4F02BDFEDD.jpeg


Yes, that’s an old Japanese man’s face on a Pikachu body.


Basically, the goal of the game is to catch a bunch of different old man animals and monsters, “ojimon,” and throw them down a Mario Bros. type pipe into your underground dungeon. Once they are there your old man slaves mine gold coins for you. Hours of bizarre, uniquely-Japanese-type fun!


A8507D37-A920-43FB-8F90-6C8267624405.jpeg


709BB868-CA95-403D-B3FB-AC36BF37C8B1.jpeg
My captured old Japanese grandpas working hard to keep me rich.


There are some strange things in Japan. Some of the toys, games, and characters that are popular here can be quite amusing. Sometimes I wonder if 8-year-olds are working at the companies that produce these things.

The shit that actually gets brought to market is unreal!

Just another reason for me to love my weird little home here, called Japan.


(If you’re interested in catching some jisans of your own, the おじモン app is available in the iOS app store. Cheers!)

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

And we love Japan because people like you are there..with so much of positivity and dedication ...
This game is really interesting and so innovative.. Look at the grandpas doing tough labour...haha.... thanks to the developers of these interesting games..
Anyway, have a wonderful weekend.

Haha. They made me laugh as well. You too, @momi5!

Yeah.. anyway, its dinner time.. good night to all three of you...

Would you recommend Japan as a good place for an ancap to retire to?

That’s an interesting question man. I’m not sure I would recommend it as such or not. It depends on what one’s looking for, I guess.

In many ways, I feel more free here than when I lived in the states. I’m pretty much left alone, and the state isn’t so overtly violent. People are generally polite and respectful, crime is low, and the place is super clean. Cops don’t tend to look for trouble and are the opposite of trigger happy.

Drug laws are extremely strict, so in that sense it’s not a libertarian climate at all. Cannabis possession can land someone up to five years in jail with hard labor.

Like I said though, in other ways it’s more relaxed. There is no real “PC culture” here, and most people truly mind their own business. I can take an open beer with me down the street, or anywhere, take a leak outside without any gasps of “horror” from busybodies, and pretty much just do whatever I want in peace.

Also, my son is unvaccinated, and the state hasn’t given us trouble yet about that.

All that said, the state, when it does swoop into action here is draconian, inflexible, and pretty much merciless in a lot of ways. There are likely much better places, but like I said, it all depends on what one is looking for.

For me, the culture and landscape is a big draw, as well as the rich tradition and also tech/innovation bent of the country as a whole.

Thanks for sharing, I have come to know much about Japan from you about Nigata city, you have also described earlier about the culture and traditions of people of Japan. They are very friendly and helpful, clean city, Allmost crime free etc. Thanks for sharing the new blog, from which we will be benefited greatly in near future. Thanks, wish you a very beautiful day friend.

Thanks for a well considered reply.
It sounds quite appealing, based on what you've told me. We're not drug takers, but I enjoy a beer.
The 'being left alone' bit is quite a drawcard.
Are large areas of wilderness locked away from the public like here in Australia, or can somebody just go exploring/fishing, and see where they end up?

In my experience hiking and what not, and the lax nature of the public national parks/spaces, you can pretty much go anywhere. It's really neat, man. It reminds me of the rural train stations here that have people pay on an honor system. Just a little box that says "please pay." Individuals are viewed in many senses as being just that, an individual on his/her own, making their way.

When folks are out fishing or hiking, it is viewed just as a natural thing individuals do, and not as a "suspect activity." Picking mountain veggies, fishing, and hiking are a big part of the culture here, generally speaking.

Japan just made the list :)

nice to see your new series "why i love japan", it would be a great experience for me also to read more and learn more about japan, well i am totally against the child labor because it absolutely destroy the childs mind and there career, they just thinks that they are just born for slavery and also start thinking negatively, i think it's a parents responsibility to save their childs from child labors and give them proper education which they truly deserve, Stay blessed my friend and thanks for sharing

Child labor? I am not sure what you mean bro. There is not a child labor problem here that I am aware of.

Thanks for the comment!

Sometimes I wonder if 8-year-olds are working at the companies that produce these things.

it's not great at all if 8 years old childs working in the companies, i think it's a time where childrens need to complete there education and think about there career rather than do job in companies.

Oh, that was just a joke because of the funny toys the companies make. It seems like maybe their CEOs are eight-year-olds because the ideas are so funny and seem like things kids would think of. :)

ok my friend now i understands it, thanks for making it clear to me.

the mighty old pokemon hehe

I laughed!
I'd like to play that game.

i wish to make the japan very beautiful and peacefull

How did you go to Japan?

I applied in Chicago to be an English teacher over here and got my first job that way. Been here over 7 years now and it’s kind of become my home.

I am glad to here that. Thank you for answer.

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07