Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 58: Teradomari Market and Aquarium.

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

寺泊 🙏 🐡🦐

Teradomari.


Teradomari is a historic fishing town/village in Niigata Prefecture, Japan, with a rich history rooted in Buddhism (thus the "tera" in the name, meaning "temple") and fishing.

The area, located near the base of Mt. Yahiko, is a popular tourist attraction for folks from all over Japan, and all over the world. Sometimes I forget how lucky I am to live in Niigata. Today as my son and I went to meet a friend and enjoyed the aquarium and the market (and some fine seafood) I remembered just what a nice little place Teradomari is.

I hope you'll enjoy coming along with us on our little day trip!


IMG_4440.JPG
Letting the fish nibble our toes at the aquarium.


IMG_4444.JPG
What do you see, out at sea?


IMG_4436.JPG
The Teradomari Aquarium.


IMG_4421.JPG
Visiting the market.


IMG_4422.JPG
Sustenance from the sea.


IMG_4424.JPG
Partaking of crab and chicken.


IMG_4419.JPG
A colorful, Teradomari-themed manhole cover.


IMG_4429.JPG
Colorful trinkets at the shop.


IMG_4431.JPG
Wind chimes and more.


IMG_4428.JPG
Colorful crabs on ice.


IMG_4426.JPG
I'm sensing a theme here, to this town.


IMG_4448.JPG
Time to eat.


IMG_4449.JPG
Delicious "Agemono Teishoku."


IMG_4432.JPG
Finally, what trip would be complete without a "Miracle Poop" golden good luck keychain???!


(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 57: "A Visit to the Bookstore," you can find it HERE. See ya soon!)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

fantastic photographs friend, it's great to see that you are enjoying your weekend with your son in teradomari, the outing like these are great stress releaser and one also feel so fresh, i really like the food shots, all foods looks delicious i hope it also tastes great, have a very happy rest of the week end my friend. thanks for sharing

Thanks, as always, for your refreshing comment. Hope you're having a great day as well.

@kafkanarchy84 - I loved this tour of Teradomari with you through your blog. I got a bit ticklish first seeing the fish nibble at your feet but thankfully, there were no photos of you swimming with sharks or somethings so I was ok to read further. LOL
The colorful manhole cover in the Teradomari theme is just great. Hope they do that every city.
Food looks delicious. Very mouth watering. In fact, I am gonna go eat something right now. So - cheers. Upvoted full

It really did tickle. Thanks, @vm2904.

Beutiful SHOTS omg im in love

crab, chicken, and fish on a stick? sweet market!

Yeah, not bad at all. The market in action!

I guess both papa and his son enjoyed the day in a amazing way... Thanks for giving the chance to be a company of your trip.. I am very excited to see the variant coloured Crab. Tandoori fish were also beautifully decorated for tourist.. Really, Tradomari is a systematic place which can easily attract the visitors....

Right. It is definitely a well-designed tourist town!

I think it will not possible easily to visit Japan for me.. So,i want to visit such more beautiful places throughout your post... I will wait with egarly.. Have a enjoyable time ahead!

Hello Friend @kafkanarchy84! Beautiful story and photos! I like to travel with you!
I want you to see my beautiful historical city! Maybe you'll want to visit it sometime!
I ask you to take a look at my top 7 posts here! I will be glad if you will be interested my blog!
https://steemit.com/life/@olga.maslievich/week-16-22-september-the-season-of-rains-and-nuts-in-lviv-life-is-beautiful-in-any-weather-7-my-best-posts-7-original-photos

I visited Niigta in this summer. They had a many sea food!
Great pictures. Upvoted!

That's great! I love it.

woooooow! beautiful scenery. Teradomari has been noted and added to my places of interest.

Beautiful pictures 👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63