Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 55: The Final Days of Summer

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

最後

saigo - last, end, conclusion, latest, most recent.


I took the bus to pick up my son Isaiah from his Montessori school today. The pre-typhoon heat was oppressive (it's hot, humid, and the air is stifling and doesn't move), and what with the missile alerts this morning regarding North Korea, a lack of sleep last night, and the busy-ness of the day, I felt overwhelmed.

We took a few photos on the way to the park, and Isaiah took some himself, too--a shrine, an empty coffee can on a bench, lotus, etc. Prior to wandering around the park we sat down by a fountain. I had a whisky soda and Isaiah had an ice cream. As we sat there, I felt we were the only ones alive. The whole city seemed to be moving around us.

We ended up at the large, sprawling fountain on the hill. Isaiah wanted to strip down and get in. I said okay. He seemed so natural there. I feel so unnatural in this weird world where one can never be sure of what will happen next. One thing I know: though grumpy, hot, and moody at times, the moments I spent with my son by that fountain, just being and talking with him as he ate his ice cream cone--just the two of us--mean more to me than anything in this "world" ever could.

Here's to the lovely colors and cooling off of the fall, coming soon.


IMG_3882.JPG


IMG_3889.JPG
Photo by Isaiah.


IMG_3944.JPG


IMG_3947.JPG


IMG_3956.JPG


IMG_3957.JPG


IMG_3962.JPG


IMG_4001.JPG


(Thank you for stopping by. If you missed the last Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 54: "Food!" you can find that HERE.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

The careless and free spirit kids still have... Sometimes it's sad to realize how we adults have grown up and become trapped into all these rules and norms we set ourselves to...

I couldn't agree more. When he asked me to jump in today, naked, the first thought that came to my mind was what will people think!? The programming is very thick even for those of us who claim to be "awake." To stay fresh and clean, with a "beginner's mind" is a constant and unending process, but a beautiful and worthwhile endeavor!

Well spoken. Even "awake" the conditioning has still done its work.

Visiting Japan is one of my biggest dreams. Hopefully, this North Korea craziness ends soon without problems. Our world has enough conflicts already... Stay safe and best wishes!

Thank you, @cryptosenpai. Means a lot. I hope you can visit soon!

nice post @kafkanarchy84, you have a great child the photographs are also so beautiful, i have same feelings for my child too when he grabs my finger and walks with me i got a feeling that my life is walking with me, japan is awesome place to live and i hope japan has the skills to tackle the north korea threats, be safe thanks for sharing.

Beautiful shots! I feel the same way about spending time with kids even just being and talking with them. Spending time with people you love means more than anything in this world.

Nice Place,
Nice photography
thanks for sharing

Little Kim would be crazy to nuke Japan, you should be safe from that

Singguh luar biasa nice your post

Nice post man! Just realized I've never seen a lotus leaf before - they look really cool :) Do they grow all over the place in Japan? Makes me think of the waterblommetjies we get here in South Africa

Amazing clear pictures, seems like Isaiah had such a blast. The leaves on those plants and the flower are lovely. What plants are they?Sorry for the overnight sirens, hope North Korea won't mess with Japan.

Hi friend what I write, don't have any words.Your son is looking smart, he had took very beautiful picture.Very innocent soul, feel very pain in my heart, science if become bad master ...can't think more. Please friend don't take too much stress, everything will be all right. Your people had experienced vastly before ,so it's natural to be worried, I think If it happens then the world may not exist. So please don't worry, be careful and alert, I always prey for you, thanks for sharing with me, may god bless you and your family, have a happy time friend.

..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69158.00
ETH 3746.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68