Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 50: A Late July Walk Through Rice Fields

in #japan7 years ago

米 🌾

kome. "Rice."


In Japanese there are a few words for "rice." Kome refers to rice as the crop, or plant grown in the field. It is also used to indicate husked grains of rice. Gohan, (ごはん)
on the other hand, is used to refer to rice as a meal, or cooked food.

Today my family and I went to a local park. I was struck, as I always am at this time of year, by the beautiful, lush greens of the expansive fields here in the Niigata rice plains. I hope you'll enjoy taking a walk through the lush greenery with us.


IMG_3114.JPG

IMG_3121.JPG

IMG_3124.JPG

IMG_3110.JPG

IMG_3108.JPG


(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last Japan Photo Blog, "Sights and Sounds on a Hot Summer Day," you can find it here)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Rice plants is stunning.

ah beautiful i love nature beauty pictures and these pictures really feels me good.

hey man really love your blog. upvoted !
which camera did you use for the pictures?

Thanks a lot man. Much appreciated. I'm just using my iPhone's camera.

You destroyed my day by saying that " Gohan" means "rice".
Bye bye dragonball

Haha. Well, Gohan's name uses different characters, so technically he isn't "Rice." :)

ok now is better ahhah

This is a very beautiful sight, I am very excited. Hopefully the harvest will be abundant, greetings from aceh, greetings from farmers in aceh

wow very beautiful green rice fields :)
I wish you a wonderful weekend ;)

its beautifull and cool weather and ur all photos are very good captures...@kafkanarchy84

wow.. nice photos.. we also grow rice in our country.. thanks

Rice? In Japan? Waaaaa? Say it aint so. Jk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44