How to Karaoke in Japan: Five Easy Steps (unique tips from the birthplace of the art!)

in #japan7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4721.JPG
Karaoke is typically done with friends, coworkers, etc, in small, cozy rooms called "Karaoke boxes" in Japan, and not in front of crowds. Many folks even rent out the rooms for themselves to study, sing alone, or just relax.

Kara-oke.


From the Japanese kara 空 (open, empty, air) and ōkesutora オーケストラ ("orchestra"), the word "karaoke" is not pronounced carry-okie here in Japan but ka as in "cot," ra as in "ramen," and oké as in "okay."

The "air orchestra" and the first karaoke machine were brought into being by a guy named Daisuke Inoue in 1971 in Kobe, Japan.

In Japan, it has long been common to provide musical entertainment at a dinner or a party. Japanese drummer Daisuke Inoue was asked frequently by guests in the Utagoe Kissa, where he performed, to provide recordings of his performances so that they could sing along. Realizing the potential for the market, Inoue made a tape recorder-like machine that played songs for a 100-yen coin each.

source.

So what are my five easy steps for having a kickass time singing karaoke in Japan? Let's get to it!


1. Find a friend that don't give a f***!

IMG_4728.JPG
Me and Raphael don't give a fuck, so it's a good match.


Okay, so admittedly, this step is not always "easy." Suffice it to say that whoever you choose to sing with should be someone you are not afraid to be yourself around. Let down your guard a bit and let loose.


2. Go to karaoke joint.

IMG_4741.JPG
source.


As stated previously, karaoke clubs abound in Japan, and there are several major purveyors of karaoke box fun, so find the one with the best song selection, service, and rooms, and head on in!


3. Before you start singing, load up the player with songs.

IMG_4722.JPG
Songs are selected on this touch screen computer.


IMG_4723.JPG
Pitch, volume, and reverb settings can be adjusted as well via the control panel/receiver.


This is something my good friend in this post taught me. It's huge. If you load up the player first, you won't be distracted trying to find your next song while your buddy is singing. Once you've successfully loaded up a good chunk of rockin' tune-age, then it's time to sing!

(Once you select your first song, just press "pause" and load up a bunch more. When you're ready to sing, just hit play.)

4. Smuggle drinks if strapped for cash, and don't drink too too much.

IMG_4742.JPG
Suntory whisky highball, in a can. A very nice choice.
source.


Okay, I know you're probably thinking "What a fuckin' buzzkill in the middle of the list!" But trust me. It's tempting to order the all you can drink option once you hit the box and get really, really...inebriated. However, for prime enjoyment of the tunes, and a good, long night of singing, I recommend taking it easy with just two or three good, strong drinks.

If you are low on fundage, you can stop by your local convenience store and buy your drinks at a much lower price, smuggling them into the karaoke box in your bag. Be sure to be discreet, though, as openly doing this repeatedly could get you asked to leave.


5. Make a mental list of jams you wanna sing before going.


IMG_4740.JPG


It happens to me all the time. I go to karaoke, only to hem and haw when it comes to choosing songs. Then, the next day, when I'm at work or driving around and hear a song I like I think, "Ah! Why didn't I sing this one at karaoke last night!?!"

The week before you go, make a list of songs you know you want to sing. That said, spontaneity is often what makes for the most memorable shared karaoke experiences, so don't forget not to be too obsessed here!


IMG_4724.JPG


IMG_4720.JPG


That's it! If you're ever in my neck of the woods, fellow Steemians, and wanna do some singing, hit me up!

Peace!

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

You've just given me a flashback.
The first and only time I ever did Kara-oke was in a bar in Kyoto in 1991.
I'd met some just lovely locals who encouraged me to have a go even though I was extremely apprehensive. I sang the Beatles song- Yesterday.
I can tell you in all honesty I was truly dreadful but the whole bar went berserk cheering and clapping at the end, it was so surreal. Great people and a great night. Japan was an amazing experience, it's amazing what you'll do when you know absolutely no one and have drank a lot of sake.
Thanks for the reminder buddy.

Ah man, that's a beautiful story. Makes me feel warm inside to hear it. I'm sure you were the star there that night. And..."Yesterday." No way to miss here with that number. Thanks for the fantastic comment/story.

Don't forget to crank the mic ECHO to 11!

You forgot to mention that all karaoke bars are not really karaoke bars. You might walk into the wrong karaoke bar and it's actually a prostitute brothel. I heard these are the main cover for Asia to have brothels, because it's kind of illegal there I think.

Owyeah and in Thai they say kaa-raa-oo-ge with the ge low toned. Seems similar in Japan, but shorter and the end have a high tone. If you use a tone marker that is. In Thai the word is loooooooong voweld.

Nice post..you know,today I came to know about its meaning and who introduced it..now I will let everyone in my surrounding know about it..and will practice it for sure...if no body then atleast with my spouse.

Yes! Please do!

@kafkanarchy84 - Aaaaah ! This is exactly what I was missing. I was wondering why I could never get my nerve up for karaoke. Now I know. I was missing this guide of 5 easy steps. LOL.

Jokes apart - You are right. It is important to find friends who really want to have fun with us and care about nothing else. I have been to karaoke places in Indonesia. Those were awesome too. I pity the poor companions who had to listen to my versions of some great songs. I think the original singers must have turned in their graves to hear me sing!! LOL

Thanks for this blog which made me go dowm memory lane. Cheers. Upvoted full!

Regards,

@vm2904

Nice post ... it seems that the Karaoke rules here in Cambodia are pretty similar :) - Upvoted

What fun. I play in bands and never had any problem getting in front of crowds of any size, but one time friends tried to get me to sing in a Kara-oke bar and I would not - could not - do it. It seems so revealing to sing with no live accompanist. I wasn't brave enough.

Haha some people say after a few few drinks you think your songs sound better.

It's true! And sometimes they really do!

Ok you have enough😎

Do the karaoke bars you frequent have a good selection of

  • old japanese folk songs?
  • modern/pop japanese songs?
  • american songs?

Is it hit or miss on obscure songs? Or has japan gone the way of making sure every juke box has every song?

The selection is surprisingly vast. All those that you listed are present in pretty good quantity.

About karaoke I am n't familiar, so no comment.. Anyway may be a entertaining.. I sometimes used a apps where I can sing any song at given music... named as karaoke... Is it the same? I don't know.... The ice covering hills beauty I enjoyed... Thanks for sharing..

Yep, that's karaoke. Singing along with a backing track where the vocals have been removed, so you become the bad vocalist.

Thanks for your reply... Have a nice time..

You are so kind, friend... I grateful to you, because you have viewed my "moon's "photography... I have little experiences in this field... But I want to go further, your inspiration will help me to go further.. with this hope...
Thanking friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53