You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Crimes against Humanity Suffered by the Japanese (Notes from Under the Tatami Mats–24 … My Adventures in Japan)

in #japan6 years ago

When I visited the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum, I read something very interesting; it said that majority of the Hiroshima survivors (who are still alive) don't really blame the US and are not angry about the attack.

The museum is very heart-breaking to visit, and the entire city is still trying to heal apparently, but you can still realize the impact of the event, especially in the architecture of the city.

I would love to visit Nagazaki, I know that the impact of the atomic bomb was much more severe there.

Sort:  

I visited the museums in both Hiroshima and Nagasaki, and they are both very sobering experiences. It's quite shocking to see what horrors man can inflict on other men.

Nagasaki is nestled in a mountain valley. Therefore, the impact of the bomb did not spread as far and wide as it did in Hiroshima. But, on the other hand, the impact within the narrow valley of Nagasaki was much more intense.

And the observation about the victims not blaming the US is thought-provoking. I believe such a forgiving attitude is essential for mankind. Don't forget, but forgive.

In fact, many of the the Vietnamese also have forgiven the US for the bombing and shooting rampage that they suffered at the hands of the Americans. (I'm not even sure that I would forgive .... :-( )

Cheers, and Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43