You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

It sounds like you might live in Upstate, NY:) That's how the weather was where I grew up. In spring, the flowering trees were amazing! In fall, the foliage was great! Summer brought about long, warm days, and winter had some nice snowfalls, but mostly a long succession of dreary, gray days.

I'm looking forward to reading some of your fiction. I don't read much these days, but it's a favorite past time of mine.

Sort:  

I do! I'm about twenty-ish miles from Ithaca, Watkins Glen, Seneca Falls and Geneva...a great central location :) I put up two posts in the beginning of April (motorcycle anniversary part one and two) with some great pictures of Taughannok Falls. I will be doing many more like that when everything is green again. I can probably do two of the Watkins Glen gorge alone.
Where in upstate do you hail from?
As for my fiction--I began this blog with The Playground Series, a philosophical series of short stories, and very clean, which is utterly unlike the novel I've been posting, ha! Reborn is the first book in a series, the second one is also complete, the third is in development. I'm going to be making a post soon with links to every chapter...actually I'm nearing completion of the first book so I'll probably do it at the end.
I'm also writing a book for steemit called Today Again, though I've been on hiatus with that for the past month, too much going on. And I'm starting to ramble, overtired :)

That's funny. After I made that comment, I looked at your blog and saw Between the Lakes NY and I couldn't believe it.

I grew up outside of Rochester and spent ten years in and around Saratoga and Albany. My friend had a cottage near Ithaca on the lake there. I can't remember if it's Seneca or Cayuga now, but that's where I learned how to water ski. I also met Ray Bradbury's daughter stranded on a boat that had run out of gas there one day.

I look forward to seeing your posts about the gorges around there. They will bring back a lot of memories, I'm sure.

My brother lives outside of Rochester in Webster. He's an RN but also a musician who is supposed to be joining us on steemit soon :)
Ithaca is Cayuga Lake. Seneca runs from Watkins to Geneva, my parents live on Seneca and that's where I learned to water ski :)
Ray Bradbury's daughter, very cool!
And I look forward to seeing more of where you live, that is one of the greatest things about steemit, it is truly a global community.

It definitely is.

My brother also plays music in Rochester. I wonder if our brothers' paths have crossed. My brother plays in a rock band called Space-Grazer and used to play in Ithaca pretty often with a metal band called Warblade. I wonder if you or your brother have ever heard of either of these bands.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19