This Is JapansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #japan7 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

Ohanami


FullSizeRender-34.jpg


Every spring the cherry trees in Japan bloom in profusion some time between the end of March and the end of July.


Some years, the cherry bloom progresses slowly and is long and drawn out, providing many opportunities for people to spend their days or evenings walking through parks or sitting alongside rivers eating snacks and bento boxes with their friends while drinking beer, sake, chu-hi, or some other alcoholic beverage. Other years, the cherry blossoms burst open over night and are quickly battered down by wind and rain before their beauty can be enjoyed. This uncertainty can make *Ohanami*, the Japanese custom of spending time with friends outdoors near cherry trees that are in bloom, difficult to plan successfully.


Perhaps the hardest thing to convey to people who have never lived in Japan is just how busy and scheduled life here tends to be. People here often work ten or more hours a day, six days a week and students generally stay after school everyday until five or six o’clock at night, participating in sports, music, art, and other activities before going to tutoring schools where many of them receive extra education until eight or nine ‘o’ clock at night. Weekends, too, tend to be filled with work-related or school-sponsored activities.




Generally speaking, spontaneous plans and outings in Japan are rare. Barbecues, lunch dates, and meeting friends out for drinks often require quite a bit of coordination. Locking in a date where everyone can participate is not easy. When planning something like ohanami, where weather becomes a factor, if the weather is less than ideal, you either have to cancel, which can mean not seeing your friends for another few months or longer, or you have to be prepared to have fun in any kind of weather. I have heard many people say that they don’t like doing ohanami because, many years, doing ohanami means sitting outside in cool, damp weather that borderlines on being cold for long periods of time. In other words, it can be an uncomfortable time where more energy is spent on shivering and trying to stay warm than actually appreciating the beauty of the short-lived cherry bloom.


That said, when the weather is nice, ohanami is something that I think just about everyone in Japan enjoys.



People go to parks in large crowds, often with tarps and blankets in hand and large bags full of food and alcohol. Sometimes, as with fireworks displays and other outdoor events, people arrive early, or even the night before to lay their tarps on the ground or rope off an area that they want to use, which in Japan, is a respected sign that the area has been taken, even if nobody is there to use it. Kids run freely. Vendors stand in their stalls selling food, toys, and helium-filled balloons with different action and anime characters on them, and in general, the atmosphere ranges from being light and carefree to downright intoxicated.


FullSizeRender-35.jpg


?ref=em-v-share


Image Credits: All images and videos in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here Hard-Off.

Sort:  

Magnificent article and pictures!

Thank you so very much for sharing this beauty and the information, I love this new word you taught me today: "Ohanami".

Namaste :)

I'm glad to hear you learned a new word. It literally means looking at flowers (Hana=flower, and mi is short for Miri, which means look 花見).

There is nothing more beautiful to me than flowering trees. I am so looking forward to spring being in full swing here! I've focused a great deal on fiction in my blog for the winter, but that will change a bit soon. I live in a beautiful area during every season-except for winter, lol. There are pretty days in winter on occasion after a new snow if the skies are blue, but in general we have seemingly endless dreary grey during those months.
I definitely look forward to posting blogs like this one :) And the food looks delicious too.

It sounds like you might live in Upstate, NY:) That's how the weather was where I grew up. In spring, the flowering trees were amazing! In fall, the foliage was great! Summer brought about long, warm days, and winter had some nice snowfalls, but mostly a long succession of dreary, gray days.

I'm looking forward to reading some of your fiction. I don't read much these days, but it's a favorite past time of mine.

I do! I'm about twenty-ish miles from Ithaca, Watkins Glen, Seneca Falls and Geneva...a great central location :) I put up two posts in the beginning of April (motorcycle anniversary part one and two) with some great pictures of Taughannok Falls. I will be doing many more like that when everything is green again. I can probably do two of the Watkins Glen gorge alone.
Where in upstate do you hail from?
As for my fiction--I began this blog with The Playground Series, a philosophical series of short stories, and very clean, which is utterly unlike the novel I've been posting, ha! Reborn is the first book in a series, the second one is also complete, the third is in development. I'm going to be making a post soon with links to every chapter...actually I'm nearing completion of the first book so I'll probably do it at the end.
I'm also writing a book for steemit called Today Again, though I've been on hiatus with that for the past month, too much going on. And I'm starting to ramble, overtired :)

That's funny. After I made that comment, I looked at your blog and saw Between the Lakes NY and I couldn't believe it.

I grew up outside of Rochester and spent ten years in and around Saratoga and Albany. My friend had a cottage near Ithaca on the lake there. I can't remember if it's Seneca or Cayuga now, but that's where I learned how to water ski. I also met Ray Bradbury's daughter stranded on a boat that had run out of gas there one day.

I look forward to seeing your posts about the gorges around there. They will bring back a lot of memories, I'm sure.

My brother lives outside of Rochester in Webster. He's an RN but also a musician who is supposed to be joining us on steemit soon :)
Ithaca is Cayuga Lake. Seneca runs from Watkins to Geneva, my parents live on Seneca and that's where I learned to water ski :)
Ray Bradbury's daughter, very cool!
And I look forward to seeing more of where you live, that is one of the greatest things about steemit, it is truly a global community.

It definitely is.

My brother also plays music in Rochester. I wonder if our brothers' paths have crossed. My brother plays in a rock band called Space-Grazer and used to play in Ithaca pretty often with a metal band called Warblade. I wonder if you or your brother have ever heard of either of these bands.

This incredible beauty! Thank you for sharing. resteem and my tape on Twitter.

This year the cherry blossoms were spectacular! Thanks for reading and sharing on your Twitter feed!

The pictures are so beautiful. Thanks for the story @boxcarblue :)

I'm glad you liked them. Thanks for commenting!

Beautiful photos @boxcarblue!

Thanks, @daveks. I hope they brought back some memories for you.

vackra bilder jag älskar dina ord thanks

Thank you for your comment. I'll look up its meaning a little later:)

Gorgeous photos!

It must be a beautiful experience!! Thanks for sharing it :)

When it's great, it's great! When it's cold, rainy, and windy, though, it can be a bit of challenge. Nevertheless, going out for walks when the cherry blossoms are in bloom is always nice!

Hope when my turn arrives to go to Japan I can have a sunny walk experience through the cherry gardens!

Right place, right time, right year:) I hope you pick a good place, time, and year as well.

I know I will!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28