This Is Japan

in #japan7 years ago

Explore everyday life in Japan

The Difference A Letter Can Make


IMG_2050.JPG


It’s no secret that clothes, signs, menus, and other things in Japan, which try to make use of English, often end up with nonsensical sayings and huge, meaning changing, typos.

Recently, I found a classic example that I would like to share. It really demonstrates the difference a single letter can make (And, if you want to go so far as to make this analogy, the difference a single person can make as well).

Let’s take a closer look at what happens when you forget to add the letter R to the word SHIRT.


IMG_2050.JPG


Hand Silk Screened Shits!

Hmmm … What kind of image does that conjure up for you? Not exactly the kind of paperweight I want to find in my stocking on Christmas morning. How about you?


IMG_2050.JPG


The Shit For Your Head!

Strangely enough, this typo kind of works. I can’t imagine what the designers were aiming for, though. Is this a shirt for your head?

I don’t know. What do you think?


IMG_2050.JPG


What Shits On Your Back?

Actually, a long time ago, I knew the answer to this question. But that’s a story for another time. These days, I’m not so sure, and I don’t think I want to know either.


IMG_2050.JPG


The Shits For Riot Grrrls!

Because apparently riot grrrls get backed up or something.


IMG_2050.JPG


Want More Shits? (Smile More)

Now, I know that regular bowel movements are healthy and important for removing toxins from the colon, but I have to admit that I really don’t want to be having any more than I already do.

Shirts, on the other hand, I could really use some more of, especially as the seasons change and the temperature begins to fall.


Thank you for stopping by and visiting me today on this lighter version of This Is Japan.

If you have any pictures of funny English mistakes that you’ve encountered on your travels around the world. Please share them here, in the comments below.


Image Credits: All images in this post are original.


This is an ongoing series that will explore various aspects of daily life in Japan. My hope is that this series will not only reveal to its followers, image by image, what Japan looks like, but that it will also inform its followers about unique Japanese items and various cultural and societal practices. If you are interested in getting regular updates about life in Japan, please consider following me at @boxcarblue. If you have any questions about life in Japan, please don’t hesitate to ask. I will do my best to answer all of your questions.


If you missed my last post, you can find it here A Very Brief In-Between Season.

Sort:  

Maybe the "shit for your head" meant one of those Unchikun hats ;')

That, my friend, is a very good answer.

Great @boxcarblue wonderful post. Japan is my favourite country. Japan is so cool and awesome country. post further information and picture of Japan.
You did great job. Best of luck for next time

Thank you for your encouragement. I have written a lot about living in Japan over the past year. If you're interested, follow the links at the end of each post back through time to the previous posts.

It's my pleasure... i will definitely follow your link. Thanks

Thanks! I hope you enjoy what you find.

This had me sold on the Shit for your head thanks for the fun riot haha got a few laughs out of this. ![]
A few fun ones I found
()


I've definitely seen a few of these in person. I never had the nerve to snap a picture, though.

Ha-ha definitely would be tempted to although I do recall a few youtube videos where a person goes around translating their english t-shirts and telling them what they mean those were my favorites :).

I've had a lot of kids in school ask me what their shirts (I mean shits;)) mean in school. A lot of times they end up pretty embarrassed.

good post

Wow, I bet that girl's Tinder is on fire in the last photo.

Thanks, Max!

I love your stories about Japan!! Could he have meant: The shield for your head??

Sorry, I haven't been writing them as much lately. I'm working on getting back into a regular habit. I think there are a couple spelling mistakes happening here (What sits on your back instead of shits on your back), but I'm baffled by the head one. I don't know. Maybe it could be shield.

Japan looks a cool place :D

It definitely is!

Congratulations @boxcarblue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

haha i really cant tell if they meant it or not!

It's hard to say, isn't it? My guess, though, is that it wasn't deliberate.

Good morning to @boxcarblue. and Thank you for postingwith interesting agenda.

I hope you find these typos humorous too, kind of like the mistakes many people have in their kanji tattoos.

This was a great post. Thank you for sharing. I'll be sure to keep an eye out for you future work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51