When #IWASAKID Challenge

in #iwasakid6 years ago (edited)

When #IWASAKID I was pretty spoiled… I grew up with a grandmother who would get me anything I asked for, regardless of how outlandish it was. Being a kid, I took full advantage of Nana’s inability to say “no” and usually asked for pets. Through the years we had ducks, chickens, a pair of turkeys, many types of tropical birds, rabbits, dogs, and a pony - almost everything but cats because my grandfather was allergic... which is probably why I'm obsessed with them today!

Tiki and I - my first rabbit.

I was the little girl who asked for a pony for her 9th birthday and actually got one, even though we lived in a residential neighborhood where we really shouldn’t have had one to begin with. The backyard was pretty large, about ¾ an acre with an oversized wooden playhouse which was used as his stall. We insulated it and it really was quite cozy.

The playhouse. Yes, it was pink - and yes, I'm playing dress-up
in some kind of pink ballgown, it was the 90s. LOL

I named him Red Velvet because his baby coat was so thick and dense that he looked to be covered in crushed red velvet. Over time, his name was usually shortened to Velvet, unless he was being mischievous, which was often.

Red Velvet and I - 1993

He came from a farm that was maybe 20 minutes from our house and my Nana, who bred tropical birds, had bartered a breeding pair of African Grays for him. He was delivered to our house on a crisp September morning in the back of a pickup truck inside a handmade wooden crate. He was about 30” tall, maybe 50 pounds and was very playful, almost like a puppy.

We were told he was a miniature Shetland and would stay very small – however, he turned out to be a full-blown Shetland pony and pretty aggressive. He wasn’t really trying to be mean, just rambunctious, and sometimes manipulative by misbehaving to make you cave to his demands of carrots or apples.

I had treated him like a baby when he was small. We’d take naps together in the sun, I’d braid his mane and tail and dress him up with pretty ribbons for walks out on the sidewalk, and he’d even come in the house for snacks and cuddles – but, once he got so big and stubborn those days were over.

One winter, I believe it was the winter of 1994, we had a record snow event - the snow at our place was over 18” deep, which is quite anomalous for Kentucky. My grandmother was outside shoveling a path to the playhouse to make sure his water wasn’t frozen, he had clean bedding, and he hadn’t spilled his grains. All the sudden, with no apparent warning, a large branch maybe 8” in diameter snapped from the yellow maple beside our patio where my grandmother was shoveling and hit her directly on the head. It was a total knockout. We all heard the branch snapping from inside the house and looked out to find my grandmother laying in the snow bleeding from her head.

I ran out there screaming in nothing but my pajamas and socks and as I got there she was starting to come to, but I was terrified about the amount of blood in the snow. Her reaction was, “get back in the house, you’re going to get sick”, so I knew she was okay. She recovered just fine but did have to get about 25 sutures in her head.

My aunt had a farm in an adjacent county, so the following spring we moved Velvet out there where he happily lived out the remainder of his life with several horses – one of which he impregnated. We never could figure exactly how that happened because of their size difference, but nature has her way and his little colt was red just like him.

The tree that branch fell from was healthy according to the arborists, it was just weighed down by all the snow and ice. However, it was pretty close to the house and my grandparents were afraid it would fall on the house if it were to happen again so they had it cut down. We had a family friend who was a hobbyist woodworker and he took most of the trunk to his shop. As a surprise he made four matching bowls from the trunk for us, and now one of them sits on my sideboard as a change bowl – my little piece of the tree that almost killed Nana.

My change bowl.

We weren’t the only ones on our street to have farm animals as pets. My neighbor had a couple of pot belly pigs who wore clothes every day, and the kids across the street had a pet goat named Butt-head.

As an adult, I often find myself reflective of all the wonderful memories I have thanks to my grandmother. Her love for learning, animals, and her family has deeply impacted us all. I am lucky enough to still have her with me today, and now, I get the joy of watching her spoil my own daughter – and I fear that her inability to say “no” to her babies is even greater today than when #IWASAKID.


Nana and I - 1988


I want to give a big thanks to @grow-pro for this fun challenge!

Sort:  

This girl was so spoiled it was silly. Her family is the best!

Hahahahaha @bouron-meister!!!!! Yes, crazy fam with crazy love :)

I was spoiled by my grandmother, too @millennia! This is a prime example of a great #iwasakid post. It is so awesome to see someone else that had farm pets - I was a duck kid..haha

I laughed so hard when I read about the pigs wearing clothes and especially the kids with a goat named Butt-head (yeah, I would have been friends with them probably) 😂

You really hit a grand-slam on this @millennia. Well done!

Thanks @grow-pro! I was super fun going through my old pictures, and made me realize that most of my pictures must still be at my parents house, but I had enough of them here to pull it off.

We had ducks all throughout my childhood, some flew away but would return for visits for many years. They actually can make great pets. :)

That was a great story. It's crazy the stuff we survive as kids. I've always been kind of afraid of horses and the like, but now I wouldn't mind learning to ride.

Thank you @moeknows! It's never too late to learn to ride! I know that around here we have lots of boarding stables who offer lessons for a very reasonable price. It's a nice skill to have, and would do wonders for helping you get over your fear. They really are gentle creatures - even the mischievous ones.

Wow, @millennia! Way to set the bar high on #iwasakid! I am almost afraid to make a post with this hashtag as you have set the standard really high... I will have to wait until tomorrow to have a little more prep time. A++

Aww, thank you @superdavey - that is such a sweet comment to hear, especially for someone who still isn't very confident in their writing, like me!! I am excited to read what you post, it was so fun to write and rummage through old photos with my daughter who apparently hadn't seen many of them.

Wow, a pony! It's like every girl's dream and you have one!!! Velvet looks like a darling. You even got to take naps with it. Awwww....

But when I read what happened to your grandma, I almost cried. My hearted skipped a beat because I too was raised by my grandma and hmm I watched her passed on. Such a heartwarming post about you and your grandma. Reminds me of mine too <3 So glad your Nana is still with you. @millennia :)

So sorry to hear about your grandmother passing, you'll always have her in your heart... I was lucky to be raised by many wonderful women! And haha yes, Velvet was every little girl's dream, I adored him. We're looking for other pictures but, they're apparently scattered between houses. Hopefully we'll find some for another post later, he was so cute. :) Thanks for reading @happycrazycon!

My children do not have grand parents in their lives really, and it sucks. I'm glad your mom is still around to be in yours and your daughter's! This was very well written, and I love how you wrapped it up too.

Thank you @finnian, and that is sad for your kids. I am so so fortunate to have a large multi-generational family. My daughter was lucky enough to have been very close to her great-great-grandmother, who didn't pass until she was 10. Up until then, we had 5 generations of living females, all very much involved in each other's lives - we took the whole "it takes a village" thing seriously. LOL

This post has received a 18.18% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @millennia. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

What a fun child good u must have had! A real pony!! I would only wish! Lol , we lived in the city limits & had chickens!! Lol that was a no no.. but Boy was it fun!! Of all of my family I am probably most close to my mom’s mom☺️ It’s a different kind of bond that u can have between 2 people! I love her dearly! Thanks for sharing ur story I enjoyed it! Looking forward to more!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65