When I was a kid, I was probably happy

in #iwasakid7 years ago

Me as a barely conscious toddler.
Jed drive.jpg

I could swear I remember this event, but do I really?

Could it be a fake memory, invented to fit the picture. I know it's me as it passed down the family. But can I trust that I really do remember the moment this was taken? It’s interesting to me as this is one of the few images of me at this age.

Maybe my ambiguity about this memory is a good thing. I suspect most of our early childhood memories are hazy, unless we had a trauma maybe. I still vividly remember looking up out of my pram at a blue sky, being posed on a scratchy three piece sofa for a formal photo, and, maybe, a little less certainly, sitting on this cushion in a neighbours’ drive.

These days most kids will grow up with a fully documented and time-lined social media presence thanks to parents and relatives. How are they going to deal with that? Will there still be enough uncertainty?

Thanks to @lloyddavis and @steevc for sharing their entries.

Want to Enter? It's Simple!
• The post can be a photo from your childhood or something that reminds you of your childhood - music, food, clothing, toys, places, or anything like that! Feel free to get as creative as you like!

• Be sure to use #iwasakid as 1 of your 5 tags in your post - this will help others view your posts related to the challenge!

• Copy & Paste these simple rules so others can easily participate

** OPTIONAL / EXTRA: **

• Engage & Interact - the challenge is meant to bridge​ communication gaps and offer topics of discussion - even if you do not wish to make a post yourself, feel free to check out the #iwasakid tag and comment on your favorites. Friends are usually people we can relate to - you might just find a new friend!

• Drop your steemit #iwasakid post below in the comments OR in any of my posts with that TAG #iwasakid

Sort:  

Yes, parents these days take a lot of photographs of their kids. But they are not getting preserved as memories like they used to be in the past days. Back then few photographs were taken but were preserved. There is a different pleasure in looking at your album.

I suppose people will find a way of dealing wth the digital versions somehow. I suspect a revival of some kind of formal portrait photos will emerge.

You were cute and sweet 😊💜

I've heard that no one remembers anything from the first three years of life. I know my earliest memories are at age 4.

I like the idea of a fake memory to fit the picture though. I wonder sometimes how accurate those memories from age 4 really are...

....I wonder how accurate most of my memories are! ;-)

Thank you for making this #iwasakid challenge so much fun, @jedb! Your post is featured in the first WEEKLY FEATURE POST that will support #iwasakid posts! Just trying to spread a little love.

Manually-Curated By A Real-Live-Hooman@grow-pro

You got a 1.96% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @grow-pro!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66892.02
ETH 3513.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67