HOME MADE GNOCCHI FROM SCRATCH

in #italian7 years ago (edited)

Takes a while but well worth the effort, nothing beats great home made gnocchi, I feel feature some sauces in following posts you can use.

IMG_4164.jpg
This one is with a tomato sauce I will post later

Ingredients (Makes enough for about 4 people with some leftovers)

  • 2.5 kg of mashable potatoes
  • 900g flour (essentially 10:4 ratio, potatoes to flour)
  • 1 egg
  • heavy pinch of salt

IMG_4091.jpg

1 - Cut a shallow cross incision into the potatoes.
2 - Bake at 170 degrees for 1hour and half or until tender and soft.

IMG_4120.jpg

3 - Peel potatoes after they have cooled a little.

IMG_4121.jpg

4 - Using a potato ricer, rice the potatoes, I seemed to have misplaced mine on the day and used a grater instead, essentially you dont want large whole bit as it will lead to lumpy chunks inside the gnocchi.

IMG_4123.jpg

5 - Make a whole in the centre of potato.
6 - pour the flour around the potatoes and crack egg in centre.

IMG_4131.jpg

IMG_4134.jpg

7 - Work and kneed the mix until properly mixed, use extra flour if needed.

IMG_4139.jpg

8 - Using flour to avoid stickiness, roll out logs of the dough onto a board.

IMG_4142.jpg

9 - Using a spatula or similar, cut along 1 inch pieces.

IMG_4145.jpg

IMG_4146.jpg

10 - Place on baking paper to avoid stickiness.
11 - In a boiling pot of water, place the gnocchi.
12 - When the gnocchi pieces rise to the top, that is when you know when they are ready.

IMG_4152.jpg

13 - Allow to drain and you are ready to add to your favourite sauces.

IMG_4161.JPG

THANKS FOR VIEWING, MESSAGE ME FOR ANY QUESTIONS

Sort:  

I want :)

haha, hope you enjoy

Very interesting recipe, I never knew about this dish. It seems that it is quite simple to prepare, I'm sure to try, because I love potatoes

Takes a little while and mess but takes great in the end

Does it matter what type of potatoes to use?

Yukon gold, russets, desiree, sebago are all good, but anything that really mashes works well. Main thing is to bake not boil the potatoes.

2.5 kg of mashable potatoes

Ah yes sorry...you said it in you post and i guess i wasnt paying enough atention. I think....I might try this tomorrow (well since 1 am, today).

ty!

Always a pleasure atopy, let me know how it all turns out.

I fell in love with gnnochi while I was in Italy but I'm not much of a cook. I'll have to try your recipe!

which part of Italy?

My first taste was in Rome, then I had the pre-made stuff in Venice, which was almost as good! I'm back in the states now and I have been craving it bad- you have to go to a specialty store to get it pre-made. Do you think your recipe would work with sweet potatoes?

Yeah mate, haven't tried myself but asked the boys from the kitchen and say that it works the same if not better. Only thing I would add is throw some herbs at it like tarragon or chives. Let me know how it goes.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.null

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67