The Old Dog Takes: A Bridge To The Past!

in #ireland7 years ago (edited)

When I visit historic pieces of architecture I always try and imagine what life was like for the people that walked about in them. So many people are gone and forgotten while others have left a mark on history. 

While in Dublin I saw the site of my great grandfathers death but first a look at a historic Castle.


The Rock of Cashel is not far from the famous Tipperary and its oldest tower dates from 1100 AD


Once again the sky with its white fluffy clouds is a prominent piece of whatever the eye takes in!


The O'Connell bridge in Dublin where my great grandfather was shot and killed as a civilian bystander during the Easter Uprising in 1916!


Striking sculptures depicting migrating sufferers of Ireland's Great Famine from 1845 to 1852


You can really feel the suffering depicted in the sculptures!


The bartender at this pub got @lellabird60 to fill theses 2 pints of Guiness! The people in Ireland are a lot of fun!


Its been great to visit Ireland for the first time in my life and see where my mom's side of the family was from!

What About You?

  • Have you visited the home of your ancestors?
  • Do you plan to do so?
  • Is their any intrigue in your past?

I hope that you enjoyed this last piece of my trip to Ireland.


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Ireland is a beautiful country. I am very close of it but I have never had a chance to go and visit it.

I wish i could, but i believe my ancestor fled for a reason o.O

From where did they flee?

I suspect north korea, but my family never talk about it o.o

i have,i buried my late parents there.
Not intending to ever go back there cos of the bad memories!

Sorry to hear that. It was very emotional for me as my mom died 6 months ago!

So sorry to hear that buddie....

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Historic buildings always make us wait and wonder at their magnificence.
Make us wonder about what secrets they behold.

Yes for sure there are some dark secrets within those castle walls!

I may end up sounding like that guy, but your questions made me aware of why I want to go everywhere. I believe we are all one, so this whole planet is the land of my ancestors. I want to experience all of it, the culture, the people, the sights, everything.

Whoa. Your great Grandfather was at the Easter uprising. A monumental moment in Ireland's rocky history with Britain. I guess rocky is a huge understatement when comes that. His name must written in the books somewhere.

And castles are awesome, I've never been in an ancient one, I did go in an ancient city, The forbidden city in Beijing but it certainly lacked that mid evil feel. Nice share.

Yes, I actually knew nothing of that part of history until looking into it recently.

Good on you for capturing your ancestry. I imagine most of us would know very little of our Great Grandparents. Nice photos too. SK.

Yes I can only go back a few generations.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks very much kus-knee. SK.

I have never been to Ireland or Scotland and would love to go.
Family lore has it that one (or more?) of our relatives arrived in America after the Battle of Culloden 1746. They were Scots and they fought for the Jacobites (Bonnie Prince Charlie) and were decisively defeated by the loyalist troops in the Scottish Highlands. They were common prisoners who ended up being transported to the colonies. Family lore has it that the prisoners had their ears cut off (so brutal!) before transport and then lived out their lives in America as indentured servants.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

WOW! Thanks @kus-knee! I had no idea!!! Also, it is kinda interesting...maybe i'll make it into a post one day.

That would make an intersting post.

What an amazing story!

Hi @kus-knee, I must definitely visit both Scotland and Ireland, my surname is Wilson and apparently I am from the Scottish variety!!

So many left Europe for so many reasons!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63