Defrosting an Electric Car During a Blizzard

in #ireland6 years ago (edited)


Hi All,

We're currently experiencing the worst blizzard in many years in Ireland. The area where I live is also one of the worst affected. We're fine, thankfully the power did not go out for us and we have everything we need. We're somewhat snowed in; I've been clearing my driveway but it doesn't do much good when the roads themselves have a foot of snow on them and we live on a hill where the only way out of the area is a steep incline.

I'm sure many of you in Canada or Northern Europe would be wondering what the fuss is about, but we don't have the equipment to handle snowfall well like some other countries since it's rare enough here and usually mild, it doesn't tend to accumulate like this.

Anyway, I thought it would be interesting to see how well my electric car can defrost itself without any help, when it's completely covered in snow. While it obviously affects the range, the ease and convenience of defrosting is one of the major advantages of an electric car. Realistically, I should be pushing the snow off first, but I was curious to see how it would work out without doing that first. I ended up giving it 45 minutes with the heater on, which has been sped up 20x in this video.

Apologies for the sound in the last section of the video. The wind was howling and I was only using my mobile.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I've had no snow where I am, but 100 miles down the road you guys are really suffering. I'm loving all the Irish 'Beast from the East' memes coming out though. Humour in the face of adversity!!

Yeah, we all saw the weather maps. Ulster said no to snow. Yiz live a charmed life up there in Norn Iron.

Hope Ireland returns back to the green I was expecting before I arrive later this week... Niiice STEEMobile you've got there my friend!

I might try that process with my brain- wa ha! Or i might just drink....woo hoo!

Saw it on the news, cold really unbearable everywhere

It's great to get rid of snow this way for electric cars
Those suffering from snowboarding are the harshest remote areas where most of their cars use gasoline

Wow... The electric car is more efficient than I thought. I didn't know it could do that. The government needs to provide equipments for you guys. This is affecting the economic activities in this area.

Wao! We are with you in prayers, it will not cause any damage to you and your household. Our weather here in Nigeria is a direct opposite of yours. We are currently experiencing serious heat and it could be scorching here.

@demotruk, I can imagine how cold Ireland would be presently. I love the technology and the brain behind electric car development, I hope it serves you well. Electric cars are practically an impossible luxury in Nigeria. We barely have light to power our houses. I had wanted to thank you for your kind support to the growth of the steem blockchain and the "edusteem project team", your upvotes was of great help to us. We are indeed very grateful. I looked for you on discord but couldn't find you. I would like to get a contact of yours, to thank you. God bless you and your good heart. We will be having a church invasion meetup on Sunday, just said i should inform you. I am the edusteem team leader Eugene. Thank you

The electric car will soon take over. It's a pity for us in Nigeria because we don't know when such development in the transportation system will get to you.
The God I serve will see you through.

We here never imagine how bad the situation when snowing because we are a tropical country.
#Aceh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59403.33
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38